Mouth Dakota
Gig Seeker Pro

Mouth Dakota


Band Alternative Folk


This band hasn't logged any future gigs

This band hasn't logged any past gigs

This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



Vladimir The Platypus (2006)
The Returning Levellers (2009)
You, Are the Good Sense (2012)
Coyotes EP (2013)
Garage Daze Soundtrack (2013)



Mouth Dakota is an American indie folk band from Chicago founded in 2005 by singer-songwriter Justin Wood. Initially the project was named The Dakota Tapes after John Lennon‘s demos but later changed to Mouth Dakota to avoid any legal issues. From 2005-2012 Mouth Dakota was the solo effort of Wood that focused on capturing a lo-fi/bedroom-recording sound. Wood released four albums under Mouth Dakota & provided the soundtrack for Garage Daze before officially forming a band in 2013 with longtime friends Steph Sulcer, Ryan Dexter, Mike Sipich & Steve Sipich (& sometimes special guests). This band also writes under the name Careless Light & the Constant Explosion delving more into powerful-ambient blues.

2005-Early 2013
Mouth Dakota’s debut album Vladimir the Platypus (2006) was a collection of various home recordings, mostly analog based & recorded on a 4-track. Very few original copies are in circulation but the digital files are available on for free-where you can read a short story about each song if you click on the individual song titles.

In 2009 Wood released The Returning Levellers inspired by the Levellers-a political movement during the English Civil War; which was a much larger & eclectic collection of home recordings spanning three years & packed full of life stories from childhood & beyond.

In August of 2012, the third Mouth Dakota album You, Are the Good Sense was released. Although still clinging firmly to lo-fi roots, this album has a much more mature & focused sound than the previous two releases; tapping further into brief intimate moments of lush noise, experimental background drones, and finger-style guitar work.

The most recent recordings, Coyotes EP (2013) was written for the Linear Music Assignment Project or LMAP-a syllabus of song assignments that mapped out everything from BPM‘s to chord structures. These songs show Wood's range as a multi-instrumentalist-doing everything from programming drums to playing clarinet in order to create lush soundscapes within songs.

For more info on LMAP go here:

During these years Wood did countless shows across the Midwest & interviewed/performed live on Transistor Chicago’s radio station & shared the stage with Judson Claiborne, Rachele Eve, Slothpop & many others. He frequently included a variety of other musicians for live shows including Shane Ardell, David Gapinski, Pete Borcz, Matthew Redden, Kent Vdk, Andrew McKee, Ryan Dexter, Steph Sulcer, Mike Sipich, Steve Sipich & his brother Jacob Wood.

As a special guest Mouth Dakota was interviewed (as a variation of the current band) on WJOB radio of Hammond, IN & performed live in the studio. As the current band-Mouth Dakota performed at Summit Outside on Powder Mountain alongside Thievery Corporation, LP, Big Boi, Justin Townes Earle, Big Gigantic, Arty & many others. They are currently working on their first full band album.