Natalie Brown

Natalie Brown


Canadian born, Washington, DC based female Urban/R&B singer/songwriter with music that's listenable, commercial, and cohesive.


Born in Ontario, Canada and now residing in Washington, DC Natalie Brown’s path to recognition has indeed been a winding one. Natalie sung first soprano in the Assinaboine South Youth Choir in Winnipeg, Manitoba. After moving to Vancouver, B.C. in the mid eighties she made her way to California and landed a spot singing lead and background vocals on internationally acclaimed Gospel recording artist Ron Kenoly's "Welcome Home" tour in 1996. She toured around the country and upon her return, studied with world-renowned vocal instructors Seth Riggs (Michael Jackson, Tevin Campbell, Deborah Cox) and Dave Stroud (Terry Ellis of En Vogue, Rosie Gaines). In 1997, having gained more confidence in her voice and polished up on her songwriting, she began working on demo tapes and singing background vocals at local recording studios. She worked with several record producers to put together a handful of songs to shop around. Natalie signed a deal with an independent record label in 1998. Unfortunately, the company ran into financial difficulties and a year later, the contract expired without an album being released. Not one to feel sorry for herself, and now much wiser to the game, Natalie kept her eye on the big picture and in July 2000 accepted an offer from a label owned by the producer of her first album. "It was extremely rough at the time, but I realized that everything happens for a reason and things work out the way they’re supposed to," recalls Natalie. Natalie’s debut album was released in 2000 and contained thirteen original songs. "Let The Candle Burn" was welcomed by fans and industry personnel alike. "I’m very proud of how this album turned out," remarks Natalie. With the release of her debut album, Natalie continues to perform live and promote the album at radio, retail, on-line and on the streets.


'Let The Candle Burn'. ID30002
Identity Records.
Released 11/28/00

Set List

1. Let The Candle Burn.
2. More Today Than Yesterday.
3. Ladies Night.
4. When I Think Of You.
5. Confused.
6. When You Come Back To Me.
7. In The Groove.
8. You're So Good To Me.
9. Good Times.
10. You Make Me Feel.
11. You Gotta Believe.
12. Lady Marmalade.
13. Run Away.
14. In My Dreams.
15. Boogie Oogie.
16. Love Has Finally Called My Name.
17. To Be Real.
18.*Mystery Song*(involves audience)*.
19. Best Of My Love.
20. Let The Candle Burn.