Neural Groove

Neural Groove


The love child of Metallica and the Red Hot Chili Peppers, raised by Frank Zappa and the horn players from Fishbone.


Hard hitting, explosive, original modern rock at its best is what you can expect to hear from this six-piece Central New York band: Craig Costello on vocals and horn, Dave Springall on lead guitar, Mikey Carbone on rhythm guitar, Syracuse Area Music Award winner Steve (Bwana) Carbone on bass, Tim (Sullyfong) Sullivan on drums, and Joe Albicelli on percussion. Drawing influence from bands such as The Red Hot Chili Peppers and Metallica, this freaky bunch will rock any venue. Neural Groove’s incendiary live shows keep audiences rocking and screaming for more. 
Tracks from NG's two releases, Gorilla in a White T-Shirt?!? (1998) and Excesstasy (2000) are available on the website, and can be heard on numerous Northeast regional radio shows and compilation discs. Compilations include the 1999 Good Citizen Records Sampler, 1999 Syracuse Area Music Awards Sampler and the 2001 WKRL K-Rock Backstage Live collection, Nativ Noize.
In February 1999 Neural Groove received four SAMMY Awards nominations (Syracuse Area Music Awards). The nominations included the Brian Bourke award for Best New Artist, Best Producer: Mike Konkol and Best Recording (Gorilla). Neural Groove took home the 1999 SAMMY for Best Modern Rock Group. Bassist Steve “Bwana” Carbone represented the band at the 2001 ceremonies, winning the SAMMY for Best Hard Rock Instrumentalist. 
In May 2001, Neural Groove was selected as a Northeastern Regional Finalist in the Jim Beam Rock Band Search. They received an all expenses paid trip to Providence, Rhode Island where they competed at the Met Café against four other bands from various cities in the Northeast. Neural proudly represented Syracuse at the competition, and took home the prized Gibson Les Paul "Jim Beam Custom" Guitar. Need your venue's roof blown off? Call the Neural Groove -- we'll slam you to us.


LPs include "Gorilla in a White T-Shirt" 1998, and "Excesstasy" 2000. Singles that receive airplay include "Drool" and "Mung" from "Gorilla in a White T-Shirt," and "That Boy's a Wreck," "Come Stay With Us," and "Fecal Matters" from "Excesstasy." Neural Groove is currently in the studio working on their up and coming release. (untitled as of yet.)

Set List

Our typical set list is a 90%/10% mix of original music and cover songs. While we focus on our original material, we enjoy hitting the audience with a well placed cover tune. Covers may include: "Cult of Personality" by Living Colour, Metallica's "For Whom the Bell Tolls," "Go" by Pearl Jam, or even "Ice Cream Man" by Van Halen. The diverse list of covers is a reflection of the diversity of our original music.