New Moscow
Gig Seeker Pro

New Moscow

Band Pop Singer/Songwriter


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



"C'mon Up Reveiw"

New Moscow's new single C'mon Up is nothing short of indie pop perfection.

You're always in safe territory singing about teenage sexual adventure. Whats not to like? Male and female vocals, overtones of Like a Rolling Stone by Dylan... Plus I'm sure that Swedish kids are thought melodic appreciation classes in school, because they make it sound so completely effortless.

Whilst the a-side will have you pogoning like you were 15 again, the b-side is the perfect prescription for nights when you've taken things a bit too far and your in need of an emotional band aid.

Such sweet melancholy delivered in a ridiculously sexy cooler-than-a-cucumber manner by David Fransson and co.

10/10 - Up Magazine UK

"C'mon Up Reveiw"

Anyone who has glanced over past Singles of The Week may be aware of this twice noted, forthcoming single from New Moscow. It’s hardly a front page NME splash, but it’s what we call hype round these parts. Why the minor fuss, you may ask? Well, we’re four months and twenty-two days into the new year and Ragged Words has found its track of the year.

New Moscow is the side project of Division Of Laura Lee guitarist David Fransson, providing a stark contrast to his Swedish post punk day job. With minor accompaniment, this is Fransson’s stripped down, more melodic alter ego. Indeed, trying to link New Moscow to anything from Division of Laura Lee’s ‘Black City’ or ‘Das Not Compute’ is a little like trying to comprehend that Black Rebel Motorcycle Club’s first and third albums were written by the same band.

‘C’Mon Up’ is Division of Laura Lee slotted back into a comfortable third gear and is ludicrously catchy as a result. It is two and a half minutes steeped in the Louie Louie pop
tradition that, had it been written fourty years ago, would have deserved the attention of many a go go dancer. It’s good but it’s no track of the year. That accolade is reserved
for ‘Go Rebel Go’. Of course I realise that such a remark is stupidly subjective and I should really be using
the word “favourite” instead. Yet if I can get any element of this song’s understated genius across, then objectivity can be ignored just this one time. ‘Go Rebel Go’ is in the same league of effortless brilliance as Deus’ ‘Little Arithmetics’. Not only is this due to the Fransson’s similarly charming, European accented/English penned vocals, but for its instantly addictive melody. It’s just such a perfectly arranged song. So gloriously
unassuming, it’s an everyday anthem.

Not only does ‘C’mon Up’/ ‘Go Rebel Go’ show a different side to its composer but also to those backing it. New Moscow don’t have much in common with Vincent Vincent and
The Villains, Cazals or any other Young & Lost Clubs alumni but, as you may have guessed, we reckon this is the girls best release to date.

Padraic Halpin - Ragged Words UK


Verse Chorus Worse 2006
(Album -Wanna Borrow a Fiver Records)
C’mon Up 2006
(UK-Single -Young & Lost Records)
Fake ID 2006
(Single -Wanna Borrow a Fiver Records)
Rough Trade Shops Counter Culture 2007
(Compilation Rough Trade/V2)
Los Suaves Negros 2008
(Compilation Turbonegro Tribute –Despotz Records)

Slow Down
(Synk in Grey’s Anatomy, TV-Serie USA)
Taking Back What’s Mine
(Synk in One Tree Hill, TV-Serie USA)
Slow Down
(Synk in Summer of The Flying Saucer, Film UK)



In the winter 2005, Division Of Laura Lee guitarist David Fransson wrote 10 songs in his kitchen. He played all instruments himself and made a record. He gave it to the world as New Moscow and the album title was “Verse Chorus Worse”.

One of the songs, Slow Down, ended up in a prominent end scene in Grey’s Anatomy. For the money earned New Moscow went to London and made 6 shows in a week and released a new single, called “C’mon Up” through the Young & Lost girls imprint. Reviews were phenomenal. Rough Trade Counterculture wrote “C’mon Up is a glorious lo-fi pop gem that deserves to go to the top of the pops”.

Then winter came. David found an old diary from his teens at a time when he felt he had lost it all. And that became the second album of New Moscow, called Slow Down – an acoustic album describing the passing loves, the friendships and frustration of a youth in constant transit. Also this album was composed, recorded and produced by David himself.