Melodic instrumental post-rock, ranging from quiet ambience to distorted climaxes. Northvia has shared the stage with such artists as Battles, Explosions in the Sky, Xiu Xiu, Don Cab, Six Parts Seven, Summer Hymns, Cerberus Shoal, Maserati, VHS or Beta, Unwed Sailor, Appleseed Cast and many more.


Northvia formed in Tallahassee, FL in the fall of 2002. By February of 2003 they were already playing critically acclaimed shows with the likes of Explosions in the Sky and Battles. Their first two releases (Northvia, and Your Detached and Self Obsessed) were EPs recorded in Hattiesburg, MS and released in 2003 and 2004.
Through band members living across the country, through members leaving and joining, Northvia has survived. In 2006 they released their first full-length Sleeping in Airports with London-based label Lost Children.
For their new album Pure Magic, Northvia has added two new members, filling out their sound with piano and a second guitar player. Through layered instrumentation (including saxophone, and trumpet), carefully crafted melodies, and an attention to detail - Northvia has carved themselves a unique niche in the instrumental post rock scene.

“With inventive song structures, an intriguing mix of styles, and stellar instrumentation, this band is extremely impressive.” – Delusions of Adequacy

“North Via manages to separate themselves from many of the post-rock/instrumental bands that would normally be considered their peers.” – Opus Zine -

Key Selling Points:

+ National Press Mailing of 100 CDs – including Alternative Press, Filter Mag,,,, Billboard,, fanzines, and more.

+ International internet press campaign of 300 CDs - canvassing college radio and blogs.

+ Has shared the stage with Battles, Don Caballero, Explosions in the Sky, The Six Parts Seven, VHS or Beta, Unwed Sailor, Xiu Xiu, Maserati, Appleseed Cast and more.

+ In-store play copies available

Label Contact:
Sleepy Bird Orphanage
127 W. Fairbanks Ave #191
Winter Park, FL 32789
Phone: 352.406.9181

Net Label -
Myspace -
Website -


Venice EP
2009 - Lost Children
1. opener
2. mask
3. double
4. canal
5. elegy
6. dragqueens
7. postqueens
8. penultimate
9. closer

Pure Magic EP
2008 - Sleepy Bird Orphanage
1. Anfernee
2. Nick Anderson
3. H | Grant | H
4. Turk
5. Stuff
6. Kite

Sleeping in Airports
2006 - Lost Children
1. night on the lawn
2. awake!
3. emergency
4. air raids in threes
5. red eye
6. hours (pt. 1)
7. hours (pt.2)
8. terminal

SunSeaSky Seasonal Sampler - 2005

Your Detached and Self Obsessed EP
2004 - Self Released
1. Nobody wants to pick up an Angry Robot
2. Subrosa
3. Grasping Shadows
4. Wrong Turn, Right Direction
5. How Meaningless - the notes we play, the songs we write

s/t ep
2003 - Self Released
1. Rebirth pt.1
2. Rebirth pt.2
3. Maya (misperception)
4. Avidya (ignorance)
5. Ananda (bliss)

Set List

Current Set list:

Six to Seven Songs lasting 35-40 minutes

Nick Anderson
H | Grant | H