Obstruction of Authority
Gig Seeker Pro

Obstruction of Authority


Band Rock World


This band hasn't logged any future gigs

This band hasn't logged any past gigs

This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



It’s no time for stage fright. But a perfect time for stage diving.

The five area men who make up the band “Obstruction of Authority,” a Leavenworth-based rock band, will debut at 7 p.m. on Saturday at the Groundwork Coffee House, 509 Cherokee St. in Leavenworth.

Coming to this point has been a journey, with drummer and vocalist Brandon Darrow and guitarist and lead vocalist Tony Terry meeting approximately two years ago while Darrow was stationed at Fort Leavenworth with the U.S. Army.

When the bassist of that group, another member of the military, left, Terry and Darrow’s musical partnership went inactive until August of this year.

“That’s when we kind of started to piece things together again and find people,” Darrow said. “From there, everything started falling into place in the right place at the right time.”

The group now also includes Josh Criss of Lansing on guitar and keyboards, Monty Anderson of Leavenworth on guitar and Ryan Welborn of Leavenworth on bass.

Eventually, the band members “clicked,” and Terry said the result became Obstruction of Authority — though the name didn’t come immediately.

“We had a bunch of different names,” Terry said.

That’s because none of the members could agree on one until after practice one night, when Darrow thought of the current moniker.

Terry, who writes the band’s lyrics, said despite the name Obstruction of Authority, the lyrics are not pushing a specific agenda.

“It’s somewhat political, with hints of just life in general,” he said.

He added that the lyrics have a positive message.

As far as the music goes, Terry said it is different than what he and Darrow were doing before.

“There’s more energy and more actual feeling behind the music as opposed to just playing something,” he said.

Though Terry writes both the lyrics and the music, the band members agreed that finishing a song is generally a group process.

Josh Criss, a Lansing native who plays guitar and keyboards for the band, said every member throws in ideas for songs.

Even though the band is just now playing its first show, the members are already looking to the next step.

Terry said the band is looking to build its fanbase, record an album and, eventually, go on tour.
Whatever comes, Terry said the band is ready.

He said the group works well because of the relationships between the members.

“We’re more than just a band, we’re friends,” he said. - Leavenworth Times


EP 2007
The Birth of Brutality



Obstruction of Authority was formed out of a desire to play music that the members were passionate about, with the ultimate goal being to become a full-time, professional band. They are well on their way of realizing that goal with the release of their first album slated for later this year.
Forming in Leavenworth, KS in 2006 under the name "The Last Tragedy," the band decided to rename the musical endeavor due to lineup changes and evolving musical styles. With the final lineup in place, Obstruction of Authority began playing out on several gigs in the Greater Kansas City Metro area.
Now consisting of Tony Terry on lead vocals and rhythm guitar, Brandon Darrow on drums and backing vocals, Joshua Criss on lead guitar and vocals, Ryan Welborn on bass guitar and Monty Anderson on mood guitar and synthesizer, the band now works as a whole to write their music. The lyrics of which are not pushing any particular agenda, according to Tony Terry they are, “somewhat political with hints of just life in general.”
Most recently compared to Hawthorne Heights due to their own unique brand of radiant and fiery post-hardcore that is expansive yet more focused than the efforts of other bands that they could be categorized with and their triple guitar arrangement. This band is ready for whatever comes next in their career.
The group works well together because of the immense camaraderie between its members. Tony summed it up best when he said, “We’re more than just a band, we’re friends.”
Look for OOA’s first release titled, “ The Birth of Brutality “ due out this summer.