Of The Betrayed
Gig Seeker Pro

Of The Betrayed


Band Metal


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos


The best kept secret in music


"A betrayal this way comes"

In a time when the race for fame and fortune in the music industry grows more intense each day, there are some bands that are just content to play for the sake of playing. Enter Of the Betrayed, a five-piece wrecking ball from Lowell whose only focus is to be as devastatingly brutal as they can possibly be. Together, vocalist Steve Thompson, guitarist/backing vocalist Shaun Murphy, bassist/backing vocalist Greg Mann, guitarist Minh Son, and drummer Sam Hang are paving their way through the local metal scene.

The first and last time I saw this band was at the dearly departed Evos Arts in 2005, one of the last shows I saw there. It was a night of multiple stages; bands were playing upstairs, downstairs, and anywhere they could fit a few warm bodies. Of the Betrayed stood out for their sheer brute force and annihilating rhythms. The entire band had morphed into a giant human metronome. Drawing from common influences such as Arch Enemy, Opeth, Meshuggah, The Black Dahlia Murder, The Red Chord, All That Remains, and Iron Maiden, Of the Betrayed combine classic metal with newer, more devastating metal/hardcore acts.

"What we try to accomplish is to combine the three main styles we listen to, those being death metal, progressive metal, and hardcore. We feel that we take the best of all forms of metal and create something completely our own. Personally, we don't know what we sound like. We tried to find a solid sound and style before, but we failed, so we decided to play whatever sounds good and brutal," explains Thompson.

Of the Betrayed recently experienced the honor of sharing the stage with Cattle Decapitation last week at Marks Showplace. "It's a dream come true," says Thompson of the opportunity to open up for one of his major inspirations.

"They're one of our influences and to play with one of our influences is a memory we will cherish for the rest of our lives."

With an EP in the works for early to mid-2007, Of the Betrayed are busying themselves with local shows and saving for the almighty touring van.

"We don't have any tours scheduled yet, just small gigs for now, like the Water Festival, to get our name out. Once we get a van that's when we will start thinking about touring," says Thompson.

Come out to the Gaelic this Saturday and witness Of the Betrayed demolish the stage with Broken Moment, Bloodshed Unreal, Synthetic Mindset, There Will Be Blood, Seed, Awaken to Ashes, and Dead Sober.

The Gaelic Club, 255 Chelmsford St., Lowell. Doors are at 8 p.m. $5. - By JILLIAN LOCKE, Sun Correspondent


This is one of my few death metal projects. These guys have more talent than you can imagine. It was real fun to help them get all that into the microphone. You really have to track them down at a show and get the full CD to understand the impact of what they do. - Kahlia.com


Demo 2006
1. Down This Darkened Path
2. With Weapons Raised
3. A Painful Memory
4. Desecration of the Human Race

4 song live @ Reflections Lounge CD (2006)
1: The Dying Hour/Metamorphosis
2: Desecration of the Human Race
3: Born For Vengeance
4: A Painful Memory

5 song Demo (2005)
1: Intro
2: Bliss In Suffering
3: Metamorphosis
4: Adore
5: Born For Vengeance


Feeling a bit camera shy


The struggle to find where OF THE BETRAYED belongs is an on going mystery. Do they belong with the Progressive Metal crowd, The Death Metal crowd, The Hardcore crowd, or even the Rock crowd? That question has yet to be answered and it's because of the lack of answers that makes OF THE BETRAYED a musicale wrecking ball. Mixing all kinds of styles ranging from Progressive Metal to Rock the band show no limits and breaks all molds. They make the music they want to make to please themselves, not the fans. If the fans like the music it's because they understand the skill, the detail, and over all uniqueness not because it sounds like everything else.
Sure there are elements of some of your favorite styles but OF THE BETRAYED manages to take those styles and blend them together when upon hearing it doesn't feel like every other band. Fans who have approached OF THE BETRAYED and tried to described their sound, all they could come up with is a wide range of references to bands such as Napalm Death, Dying Fetus, Hatebreed, Bleeding Through, and many more.

The band started out as Sam Hang (Drummer) and Minh Son (ex-Bass current Guitarist) jamming and decided to start a band under the name Door To Autumn. From there Mike St. Jean was discovered by Minh Son and asked if he’d like to play guitar for the band. Mike agreed and the 3 piece started creating songs. They then decided that they needed a vocalist. Minh Son ran into Steve Thompson (Vocalist) at college where Minh asked him to try out. Steve said “sure why not” and that weekend Steve tried out nailing the gig the very same day. The band practiced together and decided they needed a 2nd guitarist. Minh spotted Shaun Murphy (Guitar) at Guitar Center and Minh asked him to try out. Shaun was hesitant at first due to the name and decided to go with his gut and try out. Shaun nailed the gig and from there the band was set.

At an All That Remains show Minh Son and Mike St. Jean were in the pit. Mike St. Jean broke his finger across Minh’s face while moshing and couldn’t play guitar. From there Mike and Minh decided to try switching instruments and it was there and then that Door To Autumn found their trademark sound. The band then realized that the name no longer fit so they went online and visited the Return to the Pit website. There was a random name generator and the band saw the name OF THE BETRAYED and from then on that would be our name.

Almost a year passes and the band starts to have a fall out with Mike St. Jean. Mike decided it was best that he quit OF THE BETRAYED and from there the band started their search for a new bassist. Their search only lasted one week when Steve Thompson found Greg Mann (current Bassist) through MySpace and from there the band decided that he was the man for the job. And that brings you up to the present. OF THE BETRAYED is currently playing shows all over the NH / MA areas and hope to expand to other states in the summer of 2007.

As of late 2006 OF THE BETRAYED has achieved a sponsorship from NO FEAR. This is only the beginning of what's in store for the 5 piece storm known as OF THE BETRAYED.

In Early 2007, bassist Greg Mann decided to start In Death Records/Booking and signed Of The Betrayed immediately along with friends Burn My Remains. They will have a new EP released sometime in the summer of 2007 through this.