Street-style rhythm & soul... We use the original tools of R&B (Rhodes piano, upright bass, percussion) to create tight jazz-funk influenced grooves combined with the vocal delivery and edge of today's hip-hop and urban R&B.



Patiokings’ exodus from the state of Washington brought Kjell Ostlund (lead vocals, Rhodes electric piano, clavinet, sax and guitar) and Jesse Pollack (bass) to the east coast, where they joined with Sturgis Cunningham (drums) and Jon Moore (congas, percussion and backing vocals). Lead singer and lyricist Kjell Ostlund (pronounced “Chell”) has carved out a unique vocal delivery over a compositional style that utilizes the percussive blend of drums, congas, bass and electric piano to new effect. While maintaining a distinct personal approach, the Patiokings’ sound pays homage to such diverse influences as Cannonball Adderley, Stevie Wonder, the Beastie Boys, Medeski Martin & Wood and Otis Redding.


“Patiokings have the soulful, jazzy R& B thing down.”
- Washington Post

“The funk is laid on so hard it hurts as The Patiokings explore the depths of neo-R&B urban acid jazz, Afro-Cuban beats, bottom-heavy P-Funk bass lines, and Stevie Wonderesque jams bring this dance music together fusing influences from the past such as Isaac Hayes, Gil Scott-Heron, Curtis Mayfield and Sly Stone. Whether it’s the get-up-and-dance grooves of “Two Steps Away” or the hypnotic head-bobbing disco rhythms of “One More Once.” Watch out Jamiroquai, these guys need elbow space.”
- What’s Up (Boston, MA)

“music you pray to hear at the bar...undisputedly great”
- Northeast Performer

“[Patiokings are] mining the soul-jazz territory for music gold. The particular take this Pioneer Valley-based quartet brings to the music is connecting it organically with hip-hop. It’s a subtle trick, but the blend, as heard on the group’s CD, my friends and i, is at once classic and contemporary.”
- The Rogovoy Report

“...the Patiokings combine world beats with smooth American soul.”
- Syracuse Post-Standard


‘BRAND NEW BAG’ is the ten-track follow up to their 2000 debut ‘My Friends and I.’ Dominant on the disc are the evocative melody and impenitent lyrics in ‘Left for the Last Time,’ the resonant chorus of ‘As It Was,’ views on our homogeneous culture in ‘One Way,’ and the seductive bass riff and persuasive assertions of ‘Keep On:’ “...we have got to stand together/not as a nation great but as a single human race/’cause the future’s looking dimmer/and the direction that we head/is down the same road that we’ve been...” The Patiokings ‘BRAND NEW BAG’ is to be released June 8th 2004.


Brand New Bag : 2004
My Friends and I : 2000

Set List

A set list can be provided if needed. A typical show is no longer than two 75 minute sets. One 75-90 minute set is preferred. The show is mostly originals from their two albums with an occasional cover.