Penny Benjamin

Penny Benjamin


Penny Benjamin. Sounds like money.


What is a Penny Benjamin? And what would it sound like? Although the band members are steeped in classic rock's vinyl era, being children of the 90’s, the music takes cues from alternative, indie and progressive rock. Early fans have called the sound "blended power rock". It goes down smooth, but with a welcome bite. As for what The Penny Benjamins are, that is for you to find out.

The story begins in a cramped rehearsal space in the summer of 2012. All experienced musicians, Eric Grant (guitar, vocals), Andrew Burns (keys, vocals), Mike Wilkins (guitar), Jason Brander (bass), and Dave Hamilton (drums) had never played as a collective unit before. After running through a few Rolling Stones standards to break the ice, original riffs and bass lines started to flow naturally. The excitement was there, this was not just a casual jam. A band had to be formed.

In a bold move, the band will release a double A-side single in spring 2013 featuring "The Protocol" and "Falling From Here". More releases from their canon of originals will follow later in the year.


"The Protocol" / "Falling From Here"
April 16, 2013

Set List

The Penny Benjamins
El Mocambo - Toronto, ON
December 1, 2012

1. Jimmy Eat Boston (original)
2. You Wreck Me (Tom Petty cover)
3. On and On (original)
4. Get Steady (original)
5. Dissident (Pearl Jam cover)
6. Say No To Hookers (original)
7. In The Meantime (Spacehog cover)
8. Hard to Handle (The Black Crowes cover)
9. Box of Leaves (original)
10. Don't Smoke Crack (original)
11. The Weight (The Band cover)
12. Oh Sweet Nuthin’ (The Velvet Underground cover)
13. Baba O'Reilly (The Who cover)