The Perms

The Perms

 Winnipeg, Manitoba, CAN

The Perms are a Winnipeg-based indie-rock group who combine hook-laden songs with sing-a-long melodies to create their unique and infectious sound.


On The Aberdeen EP, The Perms put their best foot forward.

After a busy spring writing new material, the band picked a handful of their best songs and headed into Vambo Sound Productions. The Perms goal was simple: to put all their focus into crafting arrangements that would push their instinctive writing skills and seasoned musicianship to a whole new level. The results of their hard work are four high-energy, guitar-driven songs that feature sing-a-long melodies with an aggressive, harder-edged sound.

The Aberdeen EP track-listing:

1. It's Mania

2. Aberdeen

3. The Parent Thing

4. Walk Away

The Aberdeen EP is The Perms' sixth studio album. Their music has matured but still revolves around the group's melody-driven sound. Their commitment and inspiration to creating their own original music has never wavered, and their constant dedication to improve on their songwriting and musicianship skills is clearly evident with their new release.

This band truly loves what they do.

A strong melody and compelling hook have always been hallmarks of The Perms' music, that comes shining through here on the The Aberdeen EP." - Snobs Music

"Thursday Review's take on this EP: this is great alt, indie stuff--enough said." - Thursday Review

"The Perms make clear right from the get-go on The Aberdeen EP that they are not fooling around one bit. This is alt-rock at 200 MPH that will leave your head spinning and begging for more." -

The Perms are an alt-rock trio from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. The group is made up of Shane Smith (bass/vox), Chad Smith (guitar, vox), and John Huver (drums). The band formed in 1998 and has released five prior albums: Sofia Nights (2012), Keeps You Up When You're Down (2010), Better Days (2005), Clark Drive (2002) and Tight Perm (1998).


Better Days - 2005
Clarke Drive - 2004
Tight Perm - 1997