Philip Clouts Quartet

Philip Clouts Quartet


An uplifting mix of jazz, latin and african music, played by South African born Philip Clouts (pianist in Afrobeat band ZubopGambia) and his quartet featuring saxophonist Carlos Lopez-Real from the London F-IRE collective, whom Dave Liebman says ‘plays with a sound that comes from his soul’.


When pianist Philip Clouts began his collaboration with F-IRE collective saxophonist Carlos Lopez-Real in 2008 sparks flew and a formidable new unit was born. Clouts is steeped both in the music of his native South Africa and in a diverse range of world musics which he has explored to critical acclaim with his larger outfit ZubopGambia; he draws on a wide range of compositional areas, challenging musical boundaries. Lopez-Real has developed a ground breaking solo voice which builds on the work of M-Base founder Steve Coleman and maverick genius Dave Liebman, who himself has said of Carlos “he plays with a sound that comes from his soul.”

The innovative music of this collaboration has been performed on two national tours supported by Jazz Services, and the CD “Sennen Cove” is released on Point Records. Clouts lives on the South West coast and the CD features melodic contemporary jazz pieces he has written inspired by the sights and sounds of the area while staying true to his own musical roots in African and Latin music. It has attracted airplay on BBC Radio 3, Jazz FM, UK Jazz Radio and Radio Bremen.

“Philip Clouts is an accomplished leader.” THE INDEPENDENT

“They cook up some nice, tricky rhythms to keep you alert, and control an impressive range of dynamics…Clouts makes the piano sound exactly right for each piece” THE OBSERVER

“Dorset’s coastline, added to Africa Latina flavours, inspires much attractive writing and cogent, punchy quartet playing” JAZZ UK

“Consummate musicianship” THE MUSICIAN

“Clouts swings with rhythmic deliberation and a crystal sense of phrasing. Saxophonist Lopez-Real shares Clouts’ inclusive, outgoing multi-cultural angle on jazz and leaves exuberant sounds ringing in your ears. The title track makes Sennen Cove sound like a place of fun as well as adventure with its Afro-Cuban lilt on this refreshing and most enjoyable album” JAZZWISE

“Bright and accessible yet contains enough subtlety to reward repeated exposure to its refreshing variety of rhythms, textures and moods” CHRIS PARKER

“Joyous and celebratory…wonderfully unfettered playing” IAN MANN

“Great playing, interesting compositions” RADIO BREMEN


• Philip Clouts (piano)

• Pianist and composer Philip Clouts has released 5 CDs on ‘33 Records’ with his jazz/world music project Zubop, praised in ‘The Observer’ as “optimistic, unpretentious and hugely accomplished.”

• This expanded into a collaboration with BBC World Music award winner Juldeh Camara and other Gambian master musicians in “ZubopGambia,” which has performed at Symphony Hall and Ronnie Scotts where fRoots magazine commented the ensemble “managed to raise Ronnie’s roof”.

• Philip composed pieces for jazz trio released on the CD “Direction South” for which Jazz Review complimented his “deft, lively, intensely rhythmic piano” and the Independent referred to him as “an accomplished leader.” He is now focussed on writing for quartet.

• Carlos Lopez-Real (saxophones)
• Carlos performs with Mandorla, and bands from the F-IRE collective, composing and arranging for the large ensemble. In recent years he has also played with Gary Husband, Tom Arthurs, Justin Quinn and John Mayer.
• ‘Lopez-Real set the pulses racing’ John Eyles,
• ‘He has a nice line in Lee Konitz smokiness but also its opposite, a raw and explosive multiphonics.’ John Fordham

• Alex Keen (double bass) works regularly on the jazz scene with names such as guitarist Jim Mullen and saxophonists Tim Whitehead and Theo Travis.

• Jon Desbruslais (drums) has performed with Buddy Greco and in many latin bands including Viva La Revolucion! Allstars and Son de Cuba, and was a finalist in the Worshipful Company of Musicians Jazz Medal 2012.


Sennen Cove 2010
The Hour of Pearl (to be released October 2013)