Phil Murphy

Phil Murphy

 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA

Phil Murphy is a singer/songwriter from Philadelphia, PA that mixes catchy hooks and melodies with intricate instrumentation and presentation. Phil has managed to create a truly unique and memorable sound while maintaining a top notch live performance.


Philadelphia native, Phil Murphy is a singer-songwriter that fuses a multitude of genres to form his melodic rock sound. His brand of rock/pop mixed with hints of americana and folk create a truly cross generational listening experience. Influenced by Lifehouse, the Goo Goo Dolls, Matchbox 20, and Ryan Adams, Phil believes music should be about melody as a form of emotional and artistic expression. As the lead singer and rhythm guitarist for his former band, Outset, Phil was voted Best Frontman of a local act by 93.7 WSTW. Together Outset recorded two full length albums, opened for a number of national acts, and maintained consistent radio play in the Tri State area. After the band split, Phil traveled to Nashville, TN and produced two albums, an EP and his full length debut “Upside Down World. Thus far songs “See You Again,” “Upside Down World,” and “Yesterday Night” have received airplay from radio stations across the Philly market. For purposes of live performance he calls on Phil Murphy and the Great Escape consisting of Phil on lead vocals and guitar, Joe Woods on bass, Frank DiElsi on drums, Fred Lahm on Sax, and Marlena Rudzinski on Piano.


"Long Way From Home" - EP Released 11/16/2008; "See You Again" - Radio airplay on Wilmington, DE 93.7 WSTW. "Wait and See" - Radio airplay on Wilmington, DE 93.7 WSTW.

"Upside Down World" - LP Released 9/24/2009; "Upside Down World," "Shoot to Kill," "Summer Days," and "Yesterday Night" - Radio airplay on Wilmington, DE., 93.7 WSTW.

With OutSet:

"Define a New Beginning" - LP Released 02/24/2006; Single: "Yesterday Night" - Radio airplay on Philadelphia, PA., 93.3 WMMR, Wilmington, DE., 93.7 WSTW, and YRock Internet Radio; Other tracks "Misbehave," "Life on an Island," and "Suicide Racer" - Radio airplay on Wilmington, DE., 93.7 WSTW.

"Dreaming Out Loud" - LP Released 12/30/06; Single: "Walk in the Sun" - Radio airplay on Philadelphia, PA 93.3 WMMR (commercial/advertisement clips); Other tracks: "Really Wanna" Radio airplay on Wilmington, DE 93.7 WSTW. "Dream Out Loud" Radio airplay on Acoustic Vibes Internet Radio. "Moment" Radio airplay on Radio Volta Internet Radio.

Compilation LP:
93.7 WSTW Hometown Heroes Christmas CD; 11/2006: "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas" - Cover of George Michael's "Last Christmas" - Track #4

Set List

1. Shoot To Kill
2. Sweet Stuff
3. Long Way from Home
4. Burning Question
5. Summer Days
6. One Step Back
7. Wait and See
8. I Won’t Remember You
9. Yesterday Night
10. Underwater
11. A Cynic's Approach to Love
12. Upside Down World
13. See You Again
14. You Will Remain Nameless
15. Daylight