Plastic Palace Alice
Gig Seeker Pro

Plastic Palace Alice

Band Rock Avant-garde


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos




"The word is spreading around triple j about this band. And on the strength of this track (Empire Falls), for good reason. Touches of Arcade Fire, Bowie and a lovely little xylophone." - Richard Kingsmill, Triple J

"Simply, this song (Empire Falls) is a celebration. It rumbles, twinkles, and stomps; there's a lot going on but you don't notice it, you're too busy enjoying the ride! And it WILL have you singing along...."falling, falling, falling...something, something, furthest corner of the former empire..." Great stuff!" - Caz Tran, Triple J

"Can someone please put their album out?" - Craig Mathieson, Mess and Noise

"It's a thrilling beginning for these guys - full of creative savvy and hopeful hearts - and I wish there were more bands in the country that sounded so sincere." - Beat Magazine

"...lush, dense...stunning, theatrical..." - Beat Magazine

"Plastic Palace Alice is set to modestly sneak up behind us and let out an eye opening "boo!". Reflecting a diverse number of influences, their music glistens and booms its way into your heart. The band's latest single Empire Falls would turn Rome's bloody topple into a cascading flow of refreshing bloom...I can't wait for the album." - The Sandwich Club
- Various


The Great Depression ( LP)
Empire Falls, Karaoking and The Girl Who cried wolf have all received extensive national and local radio airplay.

Seven Songs of Sixpence (EP)


Feeling a bit camera shy


In this age of iPods, file sharing, fad-driven fashion bands, and the demise of music as the measure of an artist’s worth, Melbourne’s Plastic Palace Alice is here to offer respite with the release of its debut album The Great Depression. A recording that harks back to a golden age of pop music – when songs were lush, ornate, daring and colourful – The Great Depression is both adventurous and bold, and commands attention.

From the epic Bowie-esque opener ‘Empire Falls’ via the haunted Herrmann-esque strings of ‘Red Comedian’ to the intricate and classic balladry of ‘1934’, The Great Depression treads more musical turf in 50 minutes than most artists do in a lifetime. Inspired by classic albums including The White Album, Hunky Dory, Pet Sounds and Blonde on Blonde, Plastic Palace Alice has remained steadfast in its desire to make music that resists conformity.

The Great Depression was recorded and produced by Jonathan Burnside, whose production work for artists as diverse as The Sleepy Jackson and The Melvins had long been admired by the members of Plastic Palace Alice. Funding for the album was in large part provided by Vic Arts, who understood the band’s musical ambitions to be at odds with the conservative agendas of many record labels.

Formed in late 2005, Plastic Palace Alice has spent the last two years building a devoted following Australia-wide through extensive touring. In 2007 the band was ‘Unearthed’ by national youth broadcaster, triple j, and its debut single ‘Empire Falls’ was added to rotation – the track remained a staple on the station’s playlist throughout the year. The single also appeared on many ‘Best of 2007’ lists receiving a gong for Beat Magazine’s ‘Best Single of 2007,’ beating all other local and international contenders.

Plastic Palace Alice is Rob McDowell (vocals/guitars/piano), Huw Murdoch (guitars), Gabriel Piras (bass/vocals/banjo), Jeremy Furze (drums/vocals/harmonica), Lisa McDowell (piano/synthesizers/orchestral arrangements) and Emily Taylor (vocals/percussion). The sextet has shared stages with pop notables including Stars (Canada), The Brunettes (New Zealand), Malcolm Middleton (UK) and Art Brut (UK), and toured nationally in 2008 for the album launch.