Please Do Not Fight
Gig Seeker Pro

Please Do Not Fight

San Francisco, California, United States | SELF

San Francisco, California, United States | SELF
Band Rock Alternative


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



"Rickshaw Stop: Music for Animals, Please Do Not Fight, Winter Gloves"

The Bay Area’s Music for Animals and Please Do Not Fight were joined by Canada’s Winter Gloves for a night of good old dance pop at the Rickshaw stop on April 30th. Check out concert pics, mp3s and a brief review after the jump.

Winter Gloves:

Montreal’s Winter Gloves kicked off last night’s show at the Rickshaw Stop with the work ethic you might expect. In other words, they refused to be intimidated by a U.S. audience that had likely never heard of them. Not only were Charles F’s vocals spot on, but he danced circles around glockenspiel harmonies with ease - ok, so he fell once, but it was all in good fun. Vincent Chalifor even somehow managed to use his wizard fingers to play bass lines on various synths while tossing out the band’s CD for free.

Please Do Not Fight:

However, the night was hands-down stolen by Please Do Not Fight who enjoyed the perks of a hometown crowd full of fans. After blasting a cover of M.I.A.’s “Paper Planes,” (complete with gunshot and cash register samples) the band invited everyone on stage to sing “On the Other Hand, Fight! Fight! Fight!” Hence, the grainy photograph of the guitar player in my face. All the more impressive was the fact that they had a guest bass guitarist sit in - if you have chops, sounds like they are hiring…

Music for Animals:

That’s not to say that Music for Animals didn’t close well. Guitar cranks and synchronized lights gave off a Springsteen meets the Killers vibe that reminded me of several parties where I drank too much grain alcohol. It got even more packed for their set, and Ryan Malley owned the drums all night. The crowd got what they paid for. But in the end, I felt more likely to hire PDNF to play my birthday bash. -


EP : "MOVE", 2009 (Independently Released)
1. I Will Not Forget
2. Words Speak Louder
4. Don't Wipe That Smile Off Your Face
5. Up Up Up
6. Hard To Tell

Debut LP : "Leave It All Behind", 2007 (Independently Released)
1. These Are The Sounds Of Days That Are Passed
2. On The Other Hand, Fight! Fight! Fight!
3. What Am I Trying To Save?
4. New Song
5. Monster
6. All Stand Up At Once
7. Dorian Waltz
8. Maria Remind Me
9. We All Will Sing
10. Everything Automatic
11. Play Cards, Go Dancing



Indie rock group Please Do Not Fight is a band with a sound as unforgettable as their name. Described as “Dashboard Confessional meets Matt and Kim” and known for their engaging live shows the Redwood City, CA based group has grown steadily over the past years to become a Bay Area favorite.

Songwriter Zen Zenith’s heartfelt and introspective lyrics are woven upon music that reflects his folk and power-pop roots. Zenith, who was born in England and raised in California, formed PDNF in early 2007 as a showcase for his original songs. The band quickly evolved into a collaborative collective of talented musicians and performers who each infuse their individual creative imprint. Classically-trained musician Erin Keely is featured on violin, keyboard and piano. Along with her multi-instrumental contributions, this Texas native’s sweet and soulful vocals complement Zenith and add to the band’s unique sound.

Lead guitarist Geoff McCann, like Zenith, is both a graduate of The Musicians Institue in Hollywood, California and mentor and music teacher. Rounding out the group is Kubes, an accomplished drummer with a degree in Music Percussion from Minnesota and bassist Theresa Sawi, a bay area native who recently returned from a tour of Europe.

Please Do Not Fight’s debut LP ‘Leave It All Behind’ was released in late 2007 and, by Christmas the following year, the band performed at Cafe Du Nord in San Francisco as one of the top 5 local bands voted for by fans and recognized by Live 105 in their Not So Silent Night Local Band Competition. The band released their follow up EP ‘MOVE’ in October 2010 at a headlining show at The Rickshaw Stop. This summer they performed at Left Coast Live in San Jose, CA with OK Go and Neon Trees and released a music video for the song ‘Up Up Up’.

The band is currently beginning writing and recording for their third release. They will be opening for 'The Do' at Bottom Of The Hill this Fall before embarking on a West Coast Tour.