Pocket is a Hammond organ based soul jazz band with a strong taste of the late 60's and early 70's.


For many years, the San Diego based band “The Price Of Dope” terrorized and thrilled Southern California audiences. First arriving on the scene as a substitute for The Greyboy Allstars (in what was then the urban decay of downtown San Diego) the band went on to share the stage with such acts as Prince, The Brand New Heavies, The Roots, and The Long Beach Dub Allstars. Songs from the band’s debut CD were used for Rob Machado’s surf videos and frequently featured on both local and nationally syndicated media (Blue Torch, MTV, KUSI, KSDS). In 1999, the original line up dissolved when Cheme Gastelum and Dave Carano joined Robert Walter’s 20th congress. A few years later drummer Jeff Kelley, guitarist Andy Holmes, bassist Christian Schinelli, and organist Ben Moore came together to form what we now know as Pocket.

The soul, jazz, and funk records that were sampled as the raw materials used to first create hip hop are still some of the most collected records ever made. That style of music, performed with all its original soulful intention, is the sound of Pocket.

Similar to: The Greyboy Allstars, The Meters, Medeski, Martin, & Wood, Soul Live
Goes well with: Non-smooth jazz, Pre-disco funk/R&B, Live instrument hip hop bands


EP: Pocket The Tone Conservancy 2003
LP: Pocket Pocket 2008

Set List

• Easy way out
• Step up
• Split
• Buster brown
• Ear shot
• Inside
• Friday night funk
• Soul Machine
• Ease back
• 30th street
• Fat Cakes
• Funky Miracle
• Little ole money maker
• Love bowl
• Alligator boogaloo
• Root down
• Up shot
• Goose egg
• Play it back
• High healed sneakers
• Chank
• Thank you
• Schnoogaloo
• Mcgriffoff
• Jan Jan
• Wind jammer
• Give it up turn it loose
• Cold Duck Time
• Miss Poopie
• Curb Feeler