Newton, Massachusetts, USA
BandRockAdult Contemporary

Powderhouse is a female-fronted rock band from Boston. With a sound that combines alt-country, garage rock, power-pop and classic rock, Powderhouse creates original music that features strong songwriting, emotional vocals, loud guitars, powerful drums, tasty keyboards and hi-energy performances. The band's 4th release, "Spark", was released 11.17.2017 on FOC Records. Previous releases include "Life in Black and White" (Sep. 2014), "Through The Air" (Nov. 2012) and "In The Meantime (July 2010).


The title “Waited a Long Time”, the lead track from the new EP “Spark”, could certainly sum up how Boston-based rock band Powderhouse felt on its way to releasing its 4th album. After making a personnel change in 2016 (Steve McDonough replaced founding member Kevin Moylan on drums), the band hit the studio to record a batch of new songs written by singer/guitarist Teresa Mastrorilli. Unfortunately, life got in the way and personal matters took precedence over the music for a while. But an invitation to play the Boston edition of the 2017 International Pop Overthrow Festival inspired the band to re-group and release the EP. “Spark” was produced by Ray Boyce at FOC Studios in Newton, MA and mastered by Pete Weiss at Verdant Studio in Athens, VT. The 5 song EP will be released Nov. 17 on FOC Records and will be available in all digital formats.

Powderhouse first came together in early 2007, when Teresa approached bassist/producer Ray Boyce to help her record some of her songs. That led to the formation of Powderhouse, who played their debut gig in May 2007. The band has since played successful shows at top clubs throughout the Boston area, including Church, The Middle East, Hard Rock Café, Precinct, T.T. the Bears Place, Davis Square Theatre, Sally O’Briens, Copperfield's and Bills Bar. After adding lead guitarist Fred Pickard and keyboardist Art DaPrato to the line-up in 2008, Powderhouse released their full-length debut album, "In The Meantime” in July 2010. The track "Keeping My Heart" was voted onto the Top 5 Local Song Poll on WZLX/Boston Emissions for 4 weeks and songs from the album received airplay on both terrestrial and Internet radio. Positive reviews appeared in The Deli Magazine, Metronome Magazine, The Noise, WomensRadio Music Review and elsewhere. The band released a follow-up EP entitled “Through The Air” in Nov. 2012, playing lots of shows to support that EP, which also received solid reviews and radio airplay. Powderhouse has been selected to play the International Pop Overthrow Festival 5 times (’09, ’10, ’13, ’16 & ‘17) and was twice featured as the "Soundtrack" artist of the day on NECN’s "The Morning Show". Several Powderhouse songs were also placed in the soundtrack of the film "Wingman” (2011). The EP “Life in Black and White” was released in September of 2014, which Powderhouse celebrated with a CD release show at The Middle East opening for Lydia Loveless.

The release date for “Spark” is 11.17.2017 on FOC Records, to be available on CD Baby, iTunes, Amazon, Spotify, Apple Music and just about anywhere else digital music is downloaded or streamed. Powderhouse will be booking shows and appearances throughout he Northeast during the coming months in order to support the release of their new EP. For more information, please contact Teresa Mastrorilli at info@powderhouseband.com.

www.sonicbids.com/powderhouse (EPK)

Band Members:
Teresa Mastrorilli – Lead Vocals & Guitar
Ray Boyce - Bass & Vocals
Art DaPrato - Keyboards
Fred Pickard - Lead Guitar & Vocals
Steve McDonough - Drums


Life in Black and White (2014). Five song EP released Sep. 16, 2014 on FOC Records. Available as a CD and in multiple digital formats.

Through The Air (2012). Six song EP released Nov. 13, 2012 on FOC Records. Available as a CD and in multiple digital formats.

In The Meantime (2010). Full-length (12 song) album released July 27, 2010 on FOC Records. Available as a CD and in multiple digital formats.

Set List

For a typical club gig, Powderhouse will play a 40-45 minute set of 10 or 11 original songs. However, we have enough material to play 90 minutes of original music.If requested, Powderhouse can add additional cover songs to a set in order to appeal to a wide audience. Here's a partial list of cover songs:

I Need to Know (Tom Petty)
Look at Miss Ohio (Gillian Welch)
Buick City Complex (Old 97's)
Sex on Fire (Kings of Leon)
Ring of Fire (Johnny Cash)
I Lost It (Lucinda Williams)
Driver 8 (REM)
Too Far Apart (Wilco)
Dry Land (Buffalo Tom)
Just My Imagination (Rolling Stones)
I Must Be High (Wilco)
Here Comes Your Man (Pixies)
Flake (Jack Johnson)
Come Together (Beatles)
Treehouse (Buffalo Tom)
It's All Over Now (Rolling Stones)
Sympathy for the Devil (Stones)
Mr. Jones (Counting Crowes)
Harvest Moon (Neil Young)