Gig Seeker Pro


Band Rock Adult Contemporary


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



This band has no press


- Till Monkeys Fly (Sony - 2000)
- Here We Go Stereo (Sony - 2001)
- Another Day (PIAS - 2005 / Another Label (USA) - 2007)
- Before You Leave (PIAS - 2008)

- Close Your Eyes (PIAS - 2007)

- Happy Family
- Love You More
- Laugh About It
- Brother
- Close Your Eyes

- Lucky All My Life
- Clean Again



The first few notes of their new and fourth album immediately made it obvious that Racoon’s fervent search for Ultimate Songs wouldn’t simply stop after the success of “Another Day” (2005 – PIAS). “Before You Leave” instantly forms an extraordinary chapter and highlight in every way imaginable. This is the first time there is no trace of an electric guitar on a Racoon album. This time the four Zeeland musicians have completely focussed on what they are best at: making the most beautiful acoustic pop songs. Without any unnecessary frills and spills: simplicity is powerful, less is more ...

That fantastic Racoon sound, which has been carefully cherished and built up during recent years, sounds more inspired and intense than ever before on the twelve rock solid and self-confident songs featured on “Before You Leave”. The energy and enthusiasm of songs like Clean Again and My Town tastefully alternate with the introspection and melancholy which is evident in Bedroom Floor and the title track Before You Leave. Bart van der Weide’s texts are honest, unaffected and candid. “Before You Leave” may be melancholic in places, but is certainly by no means blue. Hopeful, positive and high-spirited: an album which is rightfully the crowning glory of ten years of Racoon.

Racoon was founded in 1997 by Bart van der Weide (singer) and Dennis Huige (guitarist). Together they release three songs on the NPI’s compilation CD “Characters” during this year.
New band members Stefan de Kroon (bass) and Paul Bukkens (drums) join Racoon within several months. The four Zeeland guys sign up to record company Sony’s S.M.A.R.T. label. The “Till Monkeys Fly” debut album is released in January 2000, which is produced by Michel Schoots (Urban Dance Squad). The Feel Like Flying song is a mega hit on Radio 3FM within a couple of months and Racoon plays at Parkpop and Lowlands. The second single Blue Days also becomes a 3FM Mega Hit.

Racoon head into the studio to record a new album in the summer of 2001. “Here we Go, Stereo!” is well received by both the press and the general public. Yet Sony still decides to terminate the collaboration in 2002.

Racoon certainly doesn’t give up at the first hurdle. In close cooperation with producer and one of their very first fans, Michel Schoots, the band records the “Another Day” album in 2004 (under own management). This album releases the monster hit Love You More in 2005 and is crowned with a platinum album. All five singles released by Racoon become very successful indeed and the album results in the band’s first Edison, as well as three 3FM awards. The band is immediately classed as one of the most successful bands in the Netherlands.
After a sold out club tour in 2005 and a successful festival season in 2006, Racoon also shows a completely different side of itself in a theatre tour in the autumn of 2006, which was received with great unanimous enthusiasm and was once again sold out.

Another Day got released in the United States in November 2007, a release which Racoon supported with a month-long American tour as direct support for The Lemonheads.