Relic City
Gig Seeker Pro

Relic City

Waterloo, Canada | Established. Jan 01, 2015 | SELF

Waterloo, Canada | SELF
Established on Jan, 2015
Band Rock Alternative




"Review - Relic City"

Relic City, from Kitchener-Waterloo, ON, is celebrating a successful year of hard work and dedication with the release of their debut album, Pull Me In, today. Having only made their live debut a short time ago at Kitchener’s KOI Festival, this band is already cementing themselves in Canada’s indie rock scene and have shared the stage with Canadian rock greats, I Mother Earth.

Relic City says that they play music with guts, intelligence and swagger, and promise to pull you in, as the album name suggests. As I curled up to give this album a first listen, I became an instant fan and I enthusiastically agree! With chiming guitars, laid back drum rhythms and smooth vocals echoing that of Jon Bon Jovi or Shane Volk of One Bad Son, Relic City’s soundscape is set to attract new fans across the country!

“Paper People” is the album’s fourth track and could altogether become its most memorable music statement. It best demonstrates Relic City’s strength of harmoniously blending the elements of thoughtful yet powerful lyrics with heavy reverb and pounding drums to create a sound that is distinctly theirs and encourages a second listen.

“The Shelf” was my personal favourite track on the album, which was affirmed fully after seeing the song’s beautiful and thought-provoking official video (that also plays up on the theme of the album sleeve). As a devotee of the rock ballad, this song is a solid example and delivers on so many levels, from the alluring lyrics to the sombre tone of the strings section that plays gently in the background.

Pull Me In has certainly achieved just that. I was carried away on a lux-sounding voyage to a place where many of the Canadian rock greats reside. This album will not be collecting dust on my shelf anytime soon and many of its tracks have been added to my playlist for frequent listening pleasure. Stay tuned to Canadian Beats for an interview with the boys from Relic City as they take the time to give us a more intimate glimpse into the details of this album and what their 2016 tour schedule looks like. - Canadian Beats Magazine


Pull Me In - 2016

Tracks include:
1.  Pull Me In
2. The Tide
3. Rebel
4. Paper People
5. Between You And I
6. Different Light (feat. Jill Dowding & Mack Jordan)
7. The Shelf
8. Weightless
9. Anticipation
10. The Art Of Falling Apart
11. Seasons



Relic City – comprised of lead singer Taylor Leith, multi-instrumentalist/producer Dave Mansell, lead guitarist Nick Maldonado and drummer Emmett O’Kane, is an alternative rock band from Ontario, Canada. The band’s sound has grown and evolved from Leith’s initial years as a solo artist ; the final product of Relic City’s music is an emotionally charged set of tracks reflecting Leith's recent years of growth in his relationships and music.

Relic City made its live debut in late September 2015 at Kitchener’s KOI Festival, where the band was named winners of the inaugural “Battle For KOI” competition, soon followed by sharing the bill with I Mother Earth in Waterloo. 

With a hard-driving, melodic sound that brings the attitude of Nineties rock up to the present, the band’s debut album, Pull Me In showcases the Relic City’s instrumental prowess and front man Taylor Leith’s commanding vocals and song writing. Pull Me In includes thoughtfully crafted lyrics and slightly off-centre chord progressions giving them a raw, exploratory edge to prominent guitar-driven melodies. 


Band Members