Robert Jospe and Inner Rhythm

Robert Jospe and Inner Rhythm


Jazz, Latin, Funk, and Afro-Pop come together in the Inner Rhythm band. Led by drummer Robert Jospe the band features a vibrant mix of sound, fusing vocals and world percussion, piano, bass and sax, with the buoyant grooves of songo, blues, samba, funk and contemporary jazz.


Drummer, percussionist and composer Robert Jospé is known for his inventive use of rhythmic styles incorporating salsa, samba, swing, funk and African rhythms into his own unique and distinctive style of contemporary jazz.

Jospé, leader of his own jazz and world beat instrumental ensemble, Inner Rhythm, has been performing at festivals, concert halls, college venues, clubs and private functions throughout the mid-Atlantic region since 1990. Jospé began his career in New York City. After attending New York University he became an active player in the New York jazz and rock scene for 15 years until he moved to Charlottesville, Va. A member of the University of Virginia’s music department’s performance faculty since 1989, Jospé teaches jazz drumming and is a member of UVA’s highly acclaimed faculty jazz ensemble, The Free Bridge Quintet. Since 1992 he has received an ongoing touring grant from the Virginia Commission for the Arts for Inner Rhythm and his educational lecture/demonstration "The World Beat Workshop".

In 2006 Random Chance Records released Heart Beat, Jospé’s fifth Inner Rhythm CD and second on the label. Heart Beat features Jeff Decker on saxophones, Bob Hallahan on piano, Randall Pharr on bass, Elias Bailey on bass, Kevin Davis on percussion and vocalist/percussionist Heather Maxwell.

Jospé’s 2004 CD Hands On features the same powerful group of musicians including Kevin Davis on percussion, Jeff Decker on saxophones, Bob Hallahan on piano, John D’earth on trumpet, Pete Spaar on bass, Royce Campbell on guitar and Elias Bailey on bass.
Jospé was nominated for a Governor’s Award for the Arts in 2000. He was featured on Black Entertainment Television’s program “The Jazz Scene” in February, 2001. In 2003 he was featured in Modern Drummer Magazine and on and was an Independent Music Award Jazz finalist. He is also featured in the June 2004 issue of JazzTimes Magazine.

Jospé has performed on CD’s and/or in concert with Michael Brecker, Pat Metheny, Dave Matthews, Joe Henderson, Dave Liebman, John Abercrombie, Tim Reynolds, Carter Beauford, John D’earth, Jeff Decker, John McCutcheon, Willie Nelson, and Robin and Linda Williams. He has also performed on numerous soundtracks for PBS, The Discovery Channel and independant film projects. (See Discography) His first album of original compositions entitled ‘Inner Rhythm’ also featured Michael Brecker, along with Dave Liebman, John D’earth, and John Abercrombie.


Inner Rhythm 1990
Blue Blaze 1999
Time To Play 2001
Hands On 2004 Random Chance Records
Heart Beat 2006 Random Chance Records

Set List

45-90 minute Performance sets
One or two sets
Set 1
1) Fire Sign
2) Kenyagi/Summertime
3) Surrender
4) El Nino
5) Senor Blues
6) Bird Of Beauty
7) Good Foot

Set 2
1) Higher Ground
2) Blue Rumba
3) Bolochi/Afro-Blue
4) Fungi Mama
5) Malika
6) Night Out
7) African Women
Encore: African Women reprise