The Listeners
Gig Seeker Pro

The Listeners

New York City, New York, United States | SELF

New York City, New York, United States | SELF
Band Rock Rock


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



This band has no press


Debut album “Lamentations”:
- In April 2008 the Listeners recorded 15 songs in an 11 hour session at Mercy Sound Studios in Manhattan. In the mixing process the band selected the best 10 tracks for their debut album “Lamentations.”
- In June 2009 the Listeners made “Lamentations” available for download from iTunes:

“FIX,” second album due for release September 2010:
- The Listeners sound evolved significantly since the “Lamentations” album, taking on a harder edge reminiscent of 80s post-punk alternative bands like Joy Division and modern equivalents like The Editors.
- The Listeners chose Seaside Lounge Studios ( in Park Slope, Brooklyn, as the location to record their second album, working with sound engineer Josh Clarke between February and July of 2010 to record 11 new tracks selected from the live tracks played in 2009 and 2010, mastering them in July, and pressing them to CD in September 2010.
- The album will be released on iTunes and in CD format in mid-September 2010.
- The Listeners worked with Robert Beam Design and Illustration to combine band photos taken by bassist Bryan and photographer Ben Stimler ( with original artwork by band members to come up with the album cover.



Ronan grew up in a musical household in Ireland where the focus was on traditional Irish music (his mother was once a pupil of one of the famed Clancy brothers). Rather than follow in the footsteps of his parents, Ronan took his influence from Bob Mould, Nick Cave, and Bob Dylan when learning to play guitar and write songs. Folk-inspired lyrics come naturally for Ronan, who spent years honing in on his unique style by playing in singer-song writer open mics in Dublin, Ireland and New York City.

Bryan has performed in various bands over the last decade, including Tuckered, an “alt-country” band from North Carolina, New York City country hip-hoppers Battlestar America, and various bluegrass, punk, and metal incarnations around the city. He also produces music for film, including The Hard Road, Hotties, Hotties 2, and Anti-Terror Man. Bryan also does production work with local emcees to create out-of-the-ordinary hip hop.

Chealsea grew up in Morgantown, WV and was part of the local music scene in the late 80’s and early 90’s that spawned bands such as Th’Inbred, Lincoln, 63 Eyes, Karma to Burn, and One, a hard-core band featuring Chealsea on the drums. After moving to NYC in 1999 Chealsea spent time dj’ing small weekly parties in the East Village and LES before picking up the drums again in 2002 to play in art rock backlash band Peace of Werk and later in Brooklyn punk rock outfit The Kittens in 2004.