Run Boy Run

Run Boy Run

 Nogales, Arizona, USA

Existing in the tension between tradition and frontier, Telluride Bluegrass Festival Band Contest winner and Prairie Home Companion guest, Run Boy Run, truly exceeds the sum of its parts as touches of classical, jazz, and folk express themselves through the old-time core of the band’s unique sound.


The unique sound of Run Boy Run is rooted in the traditional music of the Appalachian South. In recent years, bands like Nickel Creek, Crooked Still, and others have revived a sense of innovation in traditional American music. Run Boy Run continues this journey into music that is dynamic, orchestral, and overflowing with beauty. Run Boy Run exists in the tension between tradition and frontier. Three strong female voices weave a spectacular tapestry of sound. Award-winning fiddle cuts a path for a tightly formed rhythmic front. Every arrangement is at its core beautiful.

From winning the band contest at Pickin in the Pines in the first weeks of forming in 2009 to playing on stage at the Telluride Bluegrass Festival as band contest winners in 2012 to making a second appearance on A Prairie Home Companion in St. Paul in 2013, Run Boy Run is spreading this special brand of music to all who would hear. With the release of the full length album So Sang the Whippoorwill in March of 2013, Run Boy Run is making more people dance, cry, and sing than ever.

Brother and sister, Matt (fiddle, guitar) and Grace Rolland (cello, vocals), have fiddle music running through their blood. Raised with bow and rosin on every bedside table, Run Boy Run was a natural fit. Sisters, Bekah (fiddle, vocals, guitar) and Jen Sandoval (mandolin, vocals), grew up deeply rooted in the Bluegrass festivals of Arizona, so they too found a home in Run Boy Run. Jesse Allen (bass) was brought up on opera and western swing, and grew to love the natural fusion inherent in American music. The whole truly exceeds the sum of the parts as touches of classical, jazz, and folk express themselves through the old-time core of Run Boy Runs unique sound.


So Sang the Whippoorwill [LP] -- March 2013
1. So Sang the Whippoorwill
2. Get Up Jake
3. Silver Dagger
4. Red Rocking Chair
5. Cora Belle
6. Roving Davey
7. Little Girl
8. Two Brothers
9. Hoot Owl
10. Down in the Willow Garden
11. Lucinda Jones / Cherokee Trail
12. In the Tea Garden

Burgundy Wine [Digital Single] -- June 2012
1. Willow Garden -- featuring Grace Rolland
2. Silver Dagger -- featuring Bekah Sandoval

Run Boy Run [EP] -- September 2011
1. Waterbound by Dirk Powell -- featuring Jen Sandoval
2. Lazy John -- featuring Bekah Sandoval
3. Train on the Island -- featuring Grace Rolland
4. Lady Margaret -- featuring Jen Sandoval
5. Liza Jane