Same Difference
Gig Seeker Pro

Same Difference

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom | INDIE

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom | INDIE
Band Pop Singer/Songwriter


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



"Top Itunes Review"

4.5 Star (average itunes rating) - Itunes

"Top Album Review"

It's official: Polka dot dresses and cherry-topped milkshakes have been terminally trashed, and the band that many loved-to-hate has undergone something of a transformation. Beware – you could find yourselves liking what you see.

Free from the kiddy-pop confines of their Syco deal with Simon Cowell, Same Difference aka Sean and Sarah Smith, are back with a striking image makeover, new label and management and a rather wonderful new album entitled, The Rest Is History – released 7th February.

The Rest Is History moves things up a notch from their debut, the aptly-titled Pop!, which sold over 180,000 copies in the UK. It is the sound of two twenty-somethings letting their hair down and having some fun, making energetic and current pop music that they’d love to listen to themselves.
First single Shine On Forever (Photo Frame), co-written by Sean & Sarah, comfortably bridges the gap from their first album to sophomore release, with an almighty power-pop chorus and a video filmed at the renowned Lightbox room at London’s famous gay club, Fire. Upon release it broke new ground for the group, becoming a Top 10 UK Club Chart hit and serving as a full throttle slushee in the face of the haters.

If power pop is your thing, it’s in plentiful supply here. Hit-makers Topham/Twigg (Backstreet Boys, Steps, Westlife) have contributed fan favourite and opening track Souled Out, and two tracks in collaboration with Bodyrox’s Nathan Thomas, Best Mistake and Euphoria – a track that sees Same Difference heading to the clubs, showcasing a totally different side to the group.
Same Difference have also worked with the cream of Scandinavia – the home of pop music. Anders Hansson/Sharon Vaughn (the writers responsible for Agnes’ worldwide smash Release Me) have contributed the Song Of The Day Karma Karma, a totally bonkers pop tune that sees the group team up with Swedish pop legends Alcazar for an unforgettable duet. Tony Nilsson (Joe McElderry, Shayne Ward) has contributed Emotion and, with Hanne Sørvaag, the massive singalong anthem and title track The Rest Is History.

Sarah and Sean have also flexed their considerable talent as songwriters here, collaborating with Georgie Dennis (S Club, Vanessa Hudgens, Kate Ryan) on Superstar and This Is Me with Ian Curnow and on tour favourite Heartbeat with Pete Hammond (Kylie’s PWL Mix Master). The closing track Broken Memories showcases the group’s more emotional side and deals with the brother/sister dynamic for the first time in their music. -

"Top Album Review"

At the end of last year, we posted a clip of ’Karma Karma’, the insanely brilliant new track which is a collaboration between Same Difference and Alcazar.

Same Difference today unleashed a megamix of their new album, ‘The Rest Is History’, which comes out worldwide on iTunes on February 7th, and the megamix features another clip of ‘Karma Karma’ which will be on the album. So have a listen below, not just for ‘Karma Karma’, but for the other tracks featured too. We were lucky enough to be played the finished Same Difference album when we were in London over New Year, and we’re delighted to confirm that it’s several HUNDRED shades of amazing! If you like the same sort of pop music that we do, and that we write about on here, then you’ll love the Same Difference album. It’s a momentous milestone in modern day pop!


‘Karma Karma’. Obviously. Anders Hanson and Sharon Vaughn wrote it, and Anders produced it along with Felix and Märta from Le Kid.

‘Emotion’. A Tony Nilsson penned anthem of Melodifestivalen pop proportions! The chorus is so memorable, whether you like it or not!

‘The Rest Is History’. Another Tony Nilsson gem, composed along with Hanne Sørvaag. It’s got an eighties power pop chorus that defies belief.

‘Souled Out’. Pure Steps. And composed by two of their old writers too, Topham and Twigg.
‘Euphoria’. As the title suggests. - Scandipop



2008 Album titled- Pop

* 1st Studio Album
* Released: 1 December 2008
* Label: Sony BMG, Syco
* Formats: CD, Digital Download
* 22 (Official album chart)
* UK Sales: 180,000 +
* BPI certification: Gold

2011 Album titled- The Rest Is History (T.R.I.H)

* 2nd Studio Album
* Released: 7 February 2011
* Label: PopLife Records
* Formats: CD, Digital Download
* 28 (Independent Album Chart) -
* UK Sales: TBC
* BPI certification:


Year Single/lead track Chart Position Album


2008 We R One 13 26 22 POP

2010 Shine On Forever 100 8 74 TRIH



Same Difference are brother and sister Sean and Sarah Smith from Portsmouth, Hampshire. Sean, 25, left home at the age of 17 to perform on cruise ships and has performed in a number of pantomimes, as well as an ABBA tour group. Sarah, 22 left home at 16 to attend the Italia Conti Academy, completing her diploma in 2007. Prior to appearing on X Factor, Sarah had already worked as a professional model and appeared on Nickelodeon TV show Genie in the House.

Same Difference entered the fourth season of the UK reality TV show ‘The X Factor’, which they were mentored by ‘Simon Cowell’ and reached the final where they eventually finished third out of 250,000 applicants.

After graduating from the hit TV show, in 2008 Same Difference embarked on the UK arena tour as part of the X Factor touring show. The tour visited packed arenas all over the UK, with the duo recreating their best loved performances from the show, winning over legions of fans and receiving enthusiastic critical reviews.

Following the X Factor tour, Same Difference went on to sign an album deal with Simon Cowell’s label, Syco, and recorded their debut album with some of the biggest names in pop – Pete Waterman (Kylie, Steps, Donna Summer), Jörgen Elofsson (Britney Spears, Leona Lewis, Westlife), and Quiz/Larossi (Alexandra Burke, Pussycat Dolls, The Saturdays). Their debut single ‘We R One’ shot into the charts at #13, and was shortly followed by the album ‘POP’, which has so far sold in excess of 180,000 copies and been certified Gold in the UK.

Since departing company with Syco, Same Difference have released their second studio album ‘The Rest Is History’ independently with Same Difference’s song writing contributions exceeding 50% of the album’s lyrical input. The duo’s album has since received raving reviews, reached #24 on the itunes UK pop chart, and charting at #28 on the independent album chart. All of which has been achieved with no marketing or advertising budget and minimal media exposure.

Same Difference are continuing to do what they do best, excite and win over audiences’ throughout various venues nationwide. The next step for the duo is to take their passion and contribution to music to the world.