Sam Kininger Band

Sam Kininger Band

 Boston, Massachusetts, USA

The sound of the Sam Kininger Band is a mix between Herbie Hancock and Maceo Parker on speed. Simply put, it is Funk at its finest!


A saxophone legend, Berklee alum, and all-around funk genius, Sam Kininger is building his fan-base and repertoire simultaneously at clubs across the country. Kininger has been in legendary funk/soul groups since the beginning, including, but not limited to Lettuce, Soulive and the Brotherhood of Groove. He has also performed with larger pop acts such as Dave Mathews Band, DJ Quick and Wyclef Jean.

As a solo artist Sam Kininger has developed a distinctive, organic sound on the saxophone that is strongly expressive. He consistently demonstrates his technical dexterity and rhythmic precision while maintaining an honest and innovative exploration of musical improvisation.

His debut album includes completely original instrumental funk/jazz compositions. The grooves are intense and the solos are aggressively rhythmic and deeply soulful. Loaded with guest musicians, Sam Kininger’s album features some of the most talented musicians on the scene, including Eric Krasno (guitar) and Neal Evans (organ) from Soulive, the legendary Fred Wesley (trombone) from George Clinton’s Parliament and James Brown’s JB’s, and Adam Deitch (drums), a member of guitar legend John Scofield’s band.

Sam Kininger’s original funk band, which also features Amy Bowles on Key’s, Aaron Bellamy on Bass and Nikki Glaspie (Beyonce) on Drums (as well as an assortment of other rotating musicians), has been blowing away audiences with their high-energy funk for about 5 years now, and their musical evolution and popularity is exponentially growing with each show. They have performed at many festivals throughout the country, including The New Orleans Jazz Festival (LA), The North Beach Jazz Festival (CA), Snoe.Down (NY) and Berkfest (MA). They have also had successful shows in clubs such as The Blue Note (NYC), The Mercury Lounge (NYC), The Elbow Room (CA), Tipitina’s (LA) and many others.

Don't be surprised if some heavyweight players make sit-in appearances, and be less surprised if you find yourself dancing like a maniac. This is a must-see show, so grab your friends and make it a night out of dancing, drinking and funking.

Sam Kininger recently finished his sophomore album, "Anthem", which was released in Japan on March 5, 2008 on the BMG-JAPAN label. Plans are in the works for a US release later this year.

SOULIVE - Sam was also a member of the internationally renowned Blue Note recording group Soulive, who has successfully toured the world and achieved outstanding record sales. During the summer of 1999, Soulive cut their first LP, “Turn It Out,” for Velour. It featured guests John Scofield and Oteil Burbridge (Allman Brothers). Then, in 2001, Soulive released their sophomore album, “Doin’ Something,” featuring legendary performer and arranger Fred Wesley on trombone. In February 2001, Soulive toured Japan, followed by a month long European summer tour that included stops in France, England, Spain, Switzerland, Italy, Belgium and the Netherlands. They band also did a run of stadium shows opening for the Dave Matthews Band.

On March 12, 2002 Soulive released their album NEXT. They incorporated their love for hip-hop and R&B creating the sounds for NEXT. They collaborated with Black Thought, Talib Kweli, Amel, Larrieux and Dave Matthews.

After a 4 year break from touring with Soulive, Kininger is once again back in the band and will be performing at most of their concerts this year including a slot at Newport Jazz Fest and a four-night run at The Blue Note in Tokyo.

LETTUCE – With their Velour Recordings release, Outta Here, Lettuce combines the grittiness of the Meters with the harmonic textures of Herbie Hancock. The band consists of Sam Kininger, Eric Krasno (Soulive), Neal Evans (Soulive), Adam Deitch (John Scofield, Shakira, Wyclef Jean), Adam Smirnoff (Robert Randolph), Erick Coomes (The Game, DJ Quick, Britney Spears), and Ryan Zoidis (Rustic Overtones). On their album, Lettuce is joined by some of their heroes including guitar great John Scofield, trombone legend Fred Wesley and Tonni Smith (Jamaica Funk). Lettuce has successfully toured across the US as well as Japan .

On April 22, 2008, Lettuce made their return with their third album, "Rage!", out on Velour Records. A homeage to the history of funk music, "Rage!" blends the old school with the new. Supporting their new album, Lettuce will be performing a number of live dates throughout the year including shows at New Orleans Jazz Fest, Fuji Rock Festival, All Good Music Festival, Newport Jazz Fest and Jamcruise.


Sam Kininger - Anthem (BMG, 2008)
Featuring: Sam Kininger - Sax
Amy Bowles - Keys
Aaron Bellamy - Bass
Jeff Lockhart - Guitar
Eric Krasno - Guitar
Nikki Glaspie - Drums
Charles Haynes - Drums
Mister Rourke - Turn Tables
Atticus Cole - Percussion
Eric Bloom - Trumpet
Marcie Chapa - Percussion

Sam Kininger - (2003)
Featuring: Sam Kininger - Alto Sax
Fred Wesley - Trombone
Ryan Zoidis - Tenor Sax
Marco Benevento - Keys
Neal Evans - Keys
James Hurt - Organ
Davy Nate - Keys
Jeff Lockhart - Guitar
Adam Smirnoff - Guitar
Tyrone Chase - Guitar
Chris Parks - Guitar
Chris Loftlin - Bass
Double Z - Bass
Nikki Glaspie - Drums
Joe Russo - Drums
Adam Deitch - Drums
Charles Haynes - Drums
Atticus Cole - Percussion
Mister Rourke - Turntables

Set List


- NY. #1
- Where I'm Coming From
- 32-84-31 St. (aka: Fred Tune)
- Pieces
- Late Night
- Most Beautiful
- No War For Oil
- Big Whopper
- Don't Say Nothin'
- My Dogg
- Evolved
- Over Raged
- 10 Hours Late
- Locked
- Anthem
- Def Offusion
- D's Nuts!
- Think About This
- Ill
- Slam
- Jiminy Kick It
- Time To Be Out