Sandrine Masse-Savard

Sandrine Masse-Savard

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada | Established. Jan 01, 2009

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Established on Jan, 2009
Solo Alternative Folk




"A solid ear for improvisation, flawless rythm and an enlightened sense of melody”"

"All-the-while with her inherent pleasant positive attitude and diligent, hard-working work ethic, Sandrine continually strives for excellence with a solid ear for improvisation, flawless rhythm and an enlightened sense of melody. An absolute pleasure to work with!" - David Finkle, award-winning multi-instrumental recording artist and producer

"Sandrine est une musicienne d’une grande sensibilité artistique"

Sandrine est une musicienne d’une grande sensibilité artistique, possédant une versatilité lui permettant avec aisance de toucher à plusieurs styles musicaux. Son jeu musical expressif à l’alto exprime les subtilités des oeuvres musicales tout en laissant transparaître une lumière. Son engagement dans son art fait d'elle une collaboratrice loyale et inspirante. - Marie-France Mathieu, chef d’orchestre


Shoulderblades - Six Songs EP

  • Released: 2014
  • Format: CD
  • Producing, recording and mixing by Atticus 
  • Credits: annelyse gelman - guitar, vocals, sandrine masse-savard - viola,lucas hamilton - drums, atticus pomerantz - bass, bernie gelman - additional guitar on "bottomfeeder" all songs written by annelyse gelman after which each musician composed his/her own parts
Berlioz Symphonie Fantastique, Jean-Philippe Tremblay Orchestre de la Francophonie
  • Released: 2012
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Analekta (2012)
  • Album code: AN 2 9998
  • Recording, Editing and mastering in 24 bits
  • Performed by l'Orchestre de la Francophonie et Jean-Philippe Tremblay

Beethoven Live: 9 symphonies
  • Released: 2010
  • Format: double CD
  • Label: Analekta (2010)
  • Album code:  AN 2 9975-9
  • Recording, Editing and mastering in 24 bits.
  • Performers: Orchestre de la Francophonie, Jean-Philippe Tremblay, Marie-Josée Lord, Geneviève Couillard-Després, Guy Bélanger, Étienne Dupuis. 
Seb et les Locos
  • Released: 2010
  • Format: CD
  • Live Performance recorded at La Basoche in Gatineau (QC)
  • Credits: Guitare, voix: Sébastien Lemay, choriste, Marie-Ève Lemay, choriste et altiste: Sandrine Masse-Savard, percussions: Jean-Félix Giguère-Groulx, Saxophone et guitare: Martin Orlando Alvarez, Flûte traversière: Sabrina Sauvé, Basse: Juan Manuel Restrepo, Batterie: Antoine Ostiguy Drapeau
Selections from the 2008 National Tour
  • Released: 2008
  • Format: double CD
  • Label: NYOC
  • Performers: National Youth Orchestra of Canada, Jacques Lacombe
OSJM Louis Lavigueur
  • Released: 2008
  • Format: double CD
  • Recorded at Salle Claude-Champagne, on March 15th 2008 by Gilles Poirier
  • Performers: Orchestre symphonique des jeunes de Montréal sous la direction de Louis Lavigueur



Sandrine Masse-Savard is a professional musician that is very active in the field. She graduated in Viola Performance from Montreal University and her classical training brought her to perform everywhere in North America, Eastern Europe and Russia under the baton of some of the greatest national and international conductors.

She also performs in festivals, on radio and on tv in many different musical genres with artists from all around the globe.

In the last few years, Sandrine has been developing musical projects in native communities and is also specializing in musical education of the underprivileged youth.

She is currently working on her debut album which will feature her original music in a mix of folk, traditional native american rythms and alt-rock.

Current projects 2019-2020

Jeff Kavanda Mbonda Music Tour 2019-2020

Lead: Jeff Kavanda; viola, back vocals and percussions: Sandrine Masse-Savard; acoustic guitar: Dan Sharon; electric guitar: Aboulaye Kone; bass: Guy Lange; congas: Freddy Ernesto Valdes Martinez; drums: Jeremy Angani; dancer: Maria Figueroa

Okara album recording

Instrumental duo featuring original chamber-music works and integrating elements of Classical, Spanish and Folk. First album due to be released in Spring 2020. Guitar: David Finkle; viola: Sandrine Masse-Savard

Cirque les résidus 2019-2020 Tour

25-min transdisciplinary street performance. Circus artist and artistic direction: François Bouvier; music composed and performed by Sandrine Masse-Savard

Bâtir des ponts en musique 2019-2020 Tour

Concert series featuring ‘’Kwayaweh’’, composition commission from L’OPRQ              composed by Sandrine Masse-Savard, Marie-France Mathieu and Andrée Levesque-Sioui, performed by Andrée Lesvesque-Sioui (vocalist), Marie-France Mathieu (conductor) and L’OPRQ (orchestra).

Caveman Techno 

Improv’ band based in Ottawa. Band Leader, bass and native flutes: David Finkle; didgeridoo: Paul Hinger; flute and saxophone: Tariq Amery; viola: Sandrine Masse-Savard; percussions: Jamie Renaud; vocals and percussion: Laura Leonard.

Upcoming projects 2019-2020

Debut Album recording   

songs written, composed and performed (lead vocals, viola, lead guitar) by Sandrine Masse-Savard; acoustic guitar: Dan Sharon; drums: Jeremy Angani; percussions: Jamie Renaud; back vocals: Miriam


Qushotem EP   

songs written composed and performed by Sandrine Masse-Savard, Qullik Cain and Emma Cain Fakeman


Aboulaye Kone album recording

songs written and composed by Aboulaye Kone, viola: Sandrine Masse-Savard

Band Members