Sansha Blue
Gig Seeker Pro

Sansha Blue

Carmel, New York, United States | Established. Jan 01, 2018 | INDIE

Carmel, New York, United States | INDIE
Established on Jan, 2018
Band Alternative Post-rock





If Thom Yorke cheered up a little bit, I could imagine it wouldn’t sound all too different from the vibrant yet striking latest single from Sansha Blue.

Review by Amelia Vandergast - A & R Factory

"Sansha Blue Builds Swirling Psychedelic Alt-Rock Soundscapes On New EP"

(August 31, 2018)
Born and bred in the clutches of suburban New York, the 17 year old multi-instrumentalist is off to pursue bigger dreams and hone his craft at NYU's esteemed Clive Davis Institute of Recorded Music. Before he goes gallivanting off to burst onto the scene he deserves to be in, we want to spotlight his latest EP, The Grey Area, released under his moniker Sansha Blue, a dark alt-rock project he's been releasing music under for just about a year now.

In just five tracks, Chris travels a swath of influences from Nirvana's brooding grunge to Pink Floyd's warbling instrumentation to even Led Zeppelin's quieter, contemplative moments. Sansha Blue runs the gamut here both in terms of inspiration and talent, saturated by the kind of passion and grit you'll find in young up-and-comers. Chris Paraggio already has the skills -- further honing them will yield wildly interesting results.

Follow link in heading for full article. - The Music Mermaid

"Indie-rockers from Carmel to debut new album"

Sansha Blue, an alternative/indie rock band with roots in Carmel, will debut a new album during an upcoming show at Trinity Event Space in Brewster.

Music on the recording, “You Could Try If You Wanted To,” is inspired by 1980s post-punk, 90s alternative, and modern indie rock, said Chris Paraggio, Sansha Blue's guitarist and lead vocalist.

Other members of the band, which draws its name from the world's deepest underwater sinkhole, include John Baggetta on lead guitar and background vocals, Stephen Papa on guitar and synthesizer, Finn Ruane on bass, and Trevor Jones on drums. They met while going to Carmel High School.

"We all started out listening to classic rock as kids, but began expanding our musical tastes towards loads of other genres throughout high school," Paraggio said. "By the time we started playing together, we had a healthy mix of stylistic ideas between us to keep things interesting."

Follow link in heading for full article. - Lohud

"Top Indie Singles July 2019"

His new single, “Give It Time,” is a sugary sweet psych-pop track that has melodic and synergetic resonance topped with hypnotic layers.

Follow link in heading for full article. - Indie Rock Cafe

"The Justin Veatch Fund Award"

Paraggio, graduating from Carmel High School, plans to attend New York University’s School of the Arts Clive Davis Institute.

Paraggio is a classically trained cellist occupying first chair in the Carmel High School Orchestra but says his primary focus now is creating, recording and performing original alternative/experimental rock music.

Follow link in heading for full article and Learn More about - The Justin Veatch Fund

"Finding your balance as a Songwriter"

As summer comes to a close, Chris Paraggio aka Sansha Blue starts to think about the balance he needs to strike between continuing to create music and his now uber demanding journey into college life.

So many musicians have lost their footing in that first year of endless parties, distractions, and new friends. It’s easy to get lost in the demands of a new routine that shifts from a small pond to what may seem like an ocean of new choices.

Will Sansha Blue be able to keep his feet on the ground on this new journey?

Listen to the podcast to find out how this young songwriting is planning on keeping his footing. - AVA Live Radio


October 3, 2018 article and interview by Danielle Haskell for Music Talks.

Chris Paraggio, better known as Sansha Blue, has captured the attention of his fans and the music industry with his ability to write, record and produce his own music. Chris also uses his creative abilities to construct his own art work.

Chris is currently embarking on a new chapter as he begins college at The New York University’s Clive Davis Institute of Recorded Music, where he will no doubt be one to follow and watch as he climbs his path to success.

Please follow link in heading for full interview. - Music Talks


Listen / Download at

You Could Try If You Wanted To (Album)
 - ℗ Post-Art Records Released on: 2019-07-26

  1. I Wish I Could Try
  2. The Woods
  3. 25
  4. Give It Time
  5. Slipshod
  6. Change
  7. Echo Chamber
  8. A Violent Thing
  9. Proud To Hold
  10. To Be Loved
  11. You Say
Give It Time - Single - ℗ Post-Art Records Released on: 2019-06-15

Without Me (EP)
 - w/ Edward Smith - ℗ Sansha Blue Records Released on: 2018-08-31
  1. Exposition
  2. Now
  3. Don't Fall In
  4. Run or Hide
  5. Without Me
  6. Conclusion
The Grey Area (EP) - ℗ Sansha Blue Records Released on: 2018-08-10
  1. Cellar Door / Beautiful Things
  2. Stuck
  3. Widowed Afternoon
  4. Dig
  5. The Gray Area (Of Other People) - Remastered

Cellar Door / Beautiful Things - Single - ℗ 2018 Sansha Blue Records Released on: 2018-05-11

The Grey Area (Of Other People) - Single - ℗ 2018 Sansha Blue Records Released on: 2018-01-01



Thanks for your interest!

SANSHA BLUE plays original alternative rock.

SANSHA BLUE began as a solo project by Chris Paraggio and is named after the deepest-known blue hole on earth.  Two EP's and one LP have been released under the name and more original music is planned for release in 2020.


Immediately after completing the debut SANSHA BLUE E.P., THE GREY AREA, as a pure solo effort, Chris collaborated with songwriter and engineer, Edward Smith. Chris and Ed wrote and recorded and produced a concept E.P. titled WITHOUT ME.  Both E.P.s were released in August 2018.

Chris continued writing and recording new work.  In summer 2019 he brought on a long time friend,  John Baggetta to help engineer and co-produce a  LP while firming up a live band in advance of the album release.  The 11 Track Album, YOU COULD TRY IF YOU WANTED TO was released July, 2019.

The live lineup includes Chris, John, Trevor Jones, Finn Ruane and Stephen Papa.

More original music is slated for 2020.

Band Members