Sean Beaver / aka / DJ Hooligan
Gig Seeker Pro

Sean Beaver / aka / DJ Hooligan

Calgary, Alberta, Canada | Established. Jan 01, 1996 | SELF | AFTRA

Calgary, Alberta, Canada | SELF | AFTRA
Established on Jan, 1996
Solo Electronic Instrumental


This band hasn't logged any future gigs

This band hasn't logged any past gigs


The best kept secret in music


"Driftpile electronic artist wins in Winnipeg"

Driftpile electronic artist wins in Winnipeg

Samara Hawkins
for South Peace News

Sean Beaver, has been hard at work for twenty years in the music industry, and received the award for Best Instrumental CD at this year’s 2013 Aboriginal People’s Choice Awards in Winnipeg, on Aug. 18.

The award was Beaver’s third APMCA win, but the first time he has won on his own.

“I was totally unprepared to give my acceptance speech,” he laughed.

“I was surprised and taken aback by the win.”

The 33-year-old goes by the stage name DJ Hooligan, and has had his hands in the music scene since 1993.

Beaver currently resides in Calgary, working as a producer for the radio station CKCE Kool 101.5.

When not producing content for radio, the Driftpile First Nation hometown hero travels and tours with the Aboriginal hip hop group REDDNATION.

“Without music in my life, I would probably lose my mind,” he said.

Beaver has multiple projects in the works, and is currently working on his sophomore album, following the release of Project: Axiom in June of 2013. - Samara Hawkins for South Peace News



Format: CD, MP3

Country: CAN

Released: Nov 10, 2015

Genre: Electronic,

1              Another Day At The Office

2              Feeling Filthy

3              House Groove (I'll Give You Pleasure)

4              Still An Ace In The Field

5              Late Night Shift

6              My Spirit Is Rising ft Elijah B

7              NYD

8              2nd In The Bass_ment

9              Tipiskaw

10            Money (Sean Beaver Remix)

11            Real Smooth

12            Getting Fresh

Written & Produced-By Sean Beaver

Except Song 6 by Sean Beaver & Elijah B. 

Except Song 10 Lyrics by Rellik & Nathan Cunningham


Format: CD, MP3

Country: CAN

Released: Nov 12, 2014

Genre: Electronic,

1              Intro Theme

2              Dirty North

3              Smooth Sunset

4              Torn (feat. Sarah Pocklington)

5              My Life Is Through

6              Tapwe Na

7              Flight to Peg

8              Smooth Sunset (Luminescence Games)

9              Salmon (Instrumental)

10            Blip Blip

11            Chain Reaction

12            You Move Me

Written & Produced-By  Sean Beaver

Project: Axiom

Format: CD, MP3

Country: CAN

Released: Jul 10, 2013

Genre: Electronic,

1              Safe Haven

2              Lost in a Daze

3              Flight School

4              Northern Electro

5              Forrest Life

6              Naughty Night

7              Ate-A-Clok

8              Sound Advice

9              Another Night Alone

10            Work Day If Off

11            Hyperflex

12            Love You Like Ur Next 2 Me

13            Un-Birthday [02-28]

14            Calling You

15            Project Axiom

Written & Produced-By  Sean Beaver

Mixed-By  DJ Hooligan



Originally from the Driftpile First Nation in northern Alberta and of Cree descent, Sean has been creating and producing music since 1993. Using music as a creative outlet, Sean’s first recorded single was released in 1996 and was globally distributed.

Since then, Sean has developed and enhanced his skills on the turntables and is now known for his exciting and energetic performances. As part of distinguished Indigenous hip hop group REDDNATION, Sean toured North America, spreading music and inspiring Indigenous youth. Sean was a key member of the group, performing as DJ Hooligan and serving as tour manager / sound technician from 2002 until the group retired in October 2013.

Wanting to go back to his roots, Sean returned to work on original music in 2012. In 2013, Sean released his first original, solo album, Project: Axiom. The album saw critical acclaim, winning Best Instrumental CD at the Aboriginal People’s Choice Awards that summer.

His second album, Torn, was released in November 2014 and went on to win Best Instrumental CD at the 2015 Indigenous Music Awards. This album featured singer Sarah Pocklington from the acapella folk group ASANI. Sarah’s ethereal vocals can be heard on "Smooth Sunset (Luminescent Games)" as well as "Torn."

Sean’s third album, NYD aka New Years Day, commemorates his anniversary of ten years living sober. NYD, includes 12 songs of layered melodies and baselines. It showcases ties to his heritage, featuring Indigenous elements such as powwow drums. The album also features newcomer Elijah B., who happens to be Sean’s younger brother, on guitar in "My Spirit Is Rising.” NYD was nominated for the Best Instrumental Album at the 2017 Indigenous Music Awards.

Sean continues to work in radio in Calgary, performs across North America, and works on new, original music every chance he gets.

Look for Sean's latest music on iTunes, Spotify, Google Play, Amazon MP3, Shazam , eMusic, Rhapsody, Deezer, and many more.

Band Members