Shark [band]

Shark [band]


Our music combines the challenging and sonically heavy assault of progressive rock with the swirling, atmospheric textures of the shoegaze genre.


Shark is a three-piece ethereal prog band from the New England region of the United States of America. Having played in various incarnations throughout the 1990s and influenced by bands as disparate as King Crimson and Slowdive, its members - Joe Mordecai (vocals, guitars, keyboards), John Mordecai (vocals, bass, keyboards), and Josh Bleeks (drums, guitars, instruments) - formed Shark in 2004.

The band self-released its self-titled debut recording in June of 2009 to positive reviews and a summer-long prominent placing on iTunes' "Rising Stars of Alt Rock." (Links to purchase the album in physical or digital formats can be found on the band's MySpace page []). The band performed primarily in the Northeastern US through the summer and fall to promote the release, which iTunes eventually named one of the Best Alternative Albums of 2009 - the only album by an unsigned band on the list.

Bassist John is also a member of Apse, who released their hotly anticipated sophomore album "Climb Up" in November of 2009 on the esteemed ATP-R label.

For more information and links, please visit the band's MySpace page:


Shark (released June 11, 2009)

• All of the tracks from our self-titled debut album are available for full streaming on

Set List

A typical setlist for one of our shows pulls material from our album as well as live jams and currently unrecorded songs.

Recent setlists have resembled this:

1. Harmonix
2. Turducken
3. Feel the Fear...
4. A Following
5. Gold Coast
6. ARP
7. Musk

Our sets usually run between 35 - 45 minutes, as our songs tend to be a little lengthy at times. However, we know how to pull it in when appropriate.