Singing Melody

Singing Melody

 Kingston, Kingston, JAM

This popular reggae artist blends R&B soulfulness into his style, adding a romantic vibe to his music.


Singing Melody Bio

Unparalleled tenor vocals fused with masterful melodies create a distinctive and soulful sound that could only be delivered by Reggae’s premier ‘melody man’ – Everton ‘Singing Melody’ Hardweare. Singing Melody is a formidable artiste boasting over twenty years in the business, standing as a testament to the adage that “good things only get better with time”.

Singing Melody exploded on the music scene, his abounding talent doubling as an automatic call back card. His foray welcomed collaborations with some of Jamaica’s renowned producers and musical mavericks including the legendary King Tubby’s for whom Melody recorded his first record, ‘Tie Me’. The release of Melody’s reggae rendition of ‘Shower Me With Your Love’ recorded with dynamic production duo Steelie & Clevie was phenomenally successful. In 1990, he recorded ‘Sayonara Tokyo’ on the Tachyon label for Sony Japan and the track became a fast favourite within the Japanese Reggae music fraternity. He then teamed up with the popular Parish Records who ushered the release of his first LP (distributed by VP Records) titled ‘Original’ (1992).

In 1999, he released his follow up LP ‘Sweeter’ which was immediately embraced by international reggae fans and included the prominent ballad, ‘Want You Back’. ‘Sweeter’ spawns three additional top songs, the title track ‘Sweeter’, ‘Baby Tonight’ and ‘Let It Flow’, but it was ‘Want You Back’ that resonated with fans across the world subsequently earning Melody ‘Song of the Year’ at the Reggae Soca Music Awards, Best Male Vocalist International at the 12th Annual Tamika Reggae Awards and "Best Music Video" for the Martin's International Reggae and World Music Awards. The song also reached #1 and #3 respectively on the Star Top 40 and the New York Reggae Top 30, while the video was #2 on the MTV2 video playlist. His third studio LP, Expressions (2002), a composition of R&B, reggae, lover’s rock and soul produces another international hit for the singer, ‘Say What’.

The talented balladeer has toured extensively throughout his career performing at many key Reggae events including One Love Reggae Music Festival in Canada, Sumfest Jamaica, Japan Splash, Bob Marley Reggae Festival in LA, Jamaica Independence Music Festival, New York Music Festival, Sunsplash Jamaica and Air Jamaica Jazz and Blues Festival to name a few. The singer names Japan Splash as his most memorable performance to date, “Not a lot of Jamaican acts were travelling to Japan during this time and I was honoured that I had this amazing opportunity to perform there. The audience was fantastic and they loved my music....” The show was indeed a success as it cemented Melody’s popularity in the Far East as well as raised his stature as a timeless and stirring international stage performer.

Currently, Melody is working on his new album, “I’m working with producers to finish up my fourth official solo album so I’m very excited about that. Certified hit makers like Kamar ‘Flava’ McGregor, Sly and Robbie, Tony Kelly and Fat Eyes are all onboard for the project and we are anticipating a summer 2011 release.” The LP will be a radical showcase of Melody’s distinctive and impressive vocal range and will also display Melody’s own hand at producing, “I operate my own label, S.H.E.M. Music and I’m looking forward to producing some of my own tracks on the upcoming album...I’ve done previous work with Morgan Heritage, Turbulence, Richie Stephens and now with Singing Melody...” he chuckles. He is also celebrating the completion of an independent project with one of the original members of US R&B group, Prophet Jones, “I was approached by Hollywood, one of the original members of the group Prophet Jones to do a reggae collaboration remake of their hit song ‘Lifetime’. We got together, recorded the song and recently shot the video in Florida. The song is currently making the rounds on local stations and is being pushed in the US...” His latest release, ‘I Can Only Imagine’ is expected to be released on iTunes shortly.

In addition to being a stellar solo performer, Singing Melody is also a foundation member of the award winning quartet L.U.S.T. L.U.S.T. has several top records including ‘Flex Me’, ‘Run Free’, ‘Sweetness Of Your Love’ as well they regained and ascertained new fans with a remake of the Air Supply hit ‘Just As I Am’. The song was an immediate sensation and earned the group ‘Song of the Year’ at the 2008 EME awards along with numerous other nominations both locally and internationally.


Solo Albums:
Original- 1992
Singing Melody - 1996
Sweeter - 1999
Expressions - 2002

Group Albums with L.U.S.T:
Sweetness of Your Love - 2008
Inspiration - 2010

Singing Melody Singles:
Painful Memories - 2011
Special Love - 2010
Ready - 2009
Lady - 2008

Singing Melody - Compilations:
• Pay Down Pon It
• Ragga Pitch
• Riddim Driven: Cry Baby 2005
• Riddim Ryders Vol. 4 2004
• Reggae Bashment Mix Vol. 3 2004
• Fat Eyes Presents Dancehall Dee-Lite 2003
• Fat Eyes Presents Dancehall Attack/Fat E... 2003
• Reggae Rhythms Of Love Vol. 4 2003
• Strictly The Best Vol. 30 2002
• Reggae Hits 2002 2002
• Morgan Heritage Family & Friends Vol. 3 2002
• The Ultimate Reggae Mix Vol. 1 2001
• Singers Lounge 2001
• Sweet Love Vol. 5 2001
• Max Double Vol. 2 2001
• Riddim Driven: Candle Wax 2001
• Hotter Than Fire Vol. 2 2000
• Reggae Sensations Vol. 1 2000
• Reggae Magic: Vol. 1 2000
• Lover's Bash 2000
• Reggae Diamond Collection/3-2-1 Megamix 2000
• Strictly The Best Vol. 26 2000
• Love You Like This 1999
• Slam Dunk 1999
• Black Cinderella 1999
• Dutty Boot 1999
• M-16 Riddim 1999
• Dancehall Rhythm: The Total Mix 1999
• The Ultimate Dancehall Mix 1999
• Double Up: Vol. 3 1999
• Millennium Dancehall Vol. 1 1999
• Total Togetherness Vol. 10 1999
• Reggae Hits Vol. 25 1999
• Gridlock '98 1998
• Strictly The Best Vol. 22 1998
• Strictly The Best Vol. 20 1997
• Lover's Mood, Vol. 3 1996
• Strictly The Best Vol. 18 1996
• Mash Up The Place! The Best Of Reggae Da... 1995
• Lover's Mood 1995
• Stone Love Dancehall Hits, Vol. 2 1994
• Superstar Line Up 1991
• Strictly The Best Vol. 1 1991
• Godfather 1990