Siobhan O'Malley

Siobhan O'Malley

 New York City, New York, USA

Quirky singer-songwriter with catchy melodies and smart lyrics--if Regina Spector and Elvis Costello had some musical-hybrid love child.


New news!! "Let's Get Ahead of Ourselves, Baby!" is a funny, heartfelt, smart EP and sure to be part of your music lexicon.

Siobhan O'Malley plays a quirky mix of folk, pop, and alt-country; her music is a mash-up that reflects her varied musical tastes—the quirkiness of Regina Spektor, the grit of Neko Case plus the melodies of Elvis Costello.; all rolled into one.

Siobhan just released a new EP, titled “Let’s Get Ahead of Ourselves, Baby!”, produced by Steve Rossiter at Axis Sound.

Music blog Hypnopomp and Circumstance says "the range of styles on 'Alibi Bye' {Siobhan’s second album] is breathtaking". Her funny and witty lyrics can often tell stories from just a few words.

Her musical peers seem to be in agreement:
• Acclaimed singer-songwriter Ruth Gerson (recently on “The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson”) calls Siobhan and her work “amazing” and “interesting and inventive…creative and beautiful” and
• power-pop super-star Mike Viola (of the Candy Butchers) says Siobhan is “fantastic, super self expressive, [she] dive[s] deep and surface[s]”.
• The website The Sheila Variations said of "Alibi Bye": "Each song is its own complete world, you don't feel a sense of same-ness, like you're just hearing the same song tricked up over and over again. And it all feels completely right, when heard together. It works as a whole."

Siobhan signed with the new NYC-based indie label, Blue Cocoon. The album that emerged from these sessions, the well-praised "Alibi Bye", includes top-tier studio musicians from throughout the city Steve Doyle on bass, Lonnie Soloway on drums, Doug Shank on dobro and Roger Lent on horns.

• Hypnopomp and Circumstance said "Alibi Bye" "gives the listener a lifeline, and by doing so [Siobhan] positions herself as a kind of humorous shaman, guiding us through our own treacherous terrain".

She also recently wrote a music for the indie movie, titled "Broccoli", written and directed by Ann Husaini.

Brief history bio: Siobhan originally came to NYC to act, but then fell in love with writing songs and playing them live. She recorded her first album, “Permanent Markers” in 2002 and began playing around the city and country in earnest.

With her unique sound and smart lyrics, Siobhan O'Malley is one artist to watch!

Live performance video can be viewed here:


"Let's Get Ahead of Ourselves, Baby!"--EP (2011)
"Alibi Bye" --LP (2009)
"Broccoli"--Indie movie, (Siobhan's song "Eat What You Want" used in the film) (2008)
"Permanent Markers" --LP (2002)

Set List

1. Give Me the Creeps
2. The Reminder
3. Heartland, Heartburn
4. I Might Have to Deal Drugs in Order to Afford to Live in this City
5. There, There
6. In With the Old
7. Let's Get Ahead of Ourselves, Baby
8. The Fundy Bay Forecast
9. Pseudo-Southern Run

Sometimes I do covers--if i do, I sometimes like doing acoustic, semi-humorous versions of VERY poppy songs--like "Genie in a Bottle" by Christina Aguilera and "Hey Ya!" by Outcast. Or sometimes I'll do songs I love, like "Deep Dark Truthful Mirror" by Elvis Costello or "Son of a Preacher Man".