Sista Stroke
Gig Seeker Pro

Sista Stroke

City of London, England, United Kingdom | Established. Jan 01, 1995 | INDIE

City of London, England, United Kingdom | INDIE
Established on Jan, 1995
DJ EDM House




"Lady D on Sista Stroke"

“From the moment she stepped foot in Chicago until the moment she left, she remained in demand as a DJ and a Producer/Remixer. Sista Stroke proved time and time again how valuable a player she was to Chitown when her tracks turned up in the sets of Derrick Carter, Colette and DJ Heather.” - Lady D, D'lectable Music

"Sista Stroke Is Back"

“In less than an hour, Sista Stroke (aka Oktober Davila) resurfaces on our sonar with the debut of her new show "Brick City House" on Sista Stroke was one of our favorite DJs and producers when she lived in Chicago, so this is certainly not to be missed.”


"Houston Press Review: Sista Stroke"

“DJ, musician, mother of invention, if you will, Sista Stroke -- she just wants to leave it at Sista Stroke -- is a twentysomethinger who obviously has a different take on deejaying. You could almost call it maternal, if it weren't for her ferocious skills behind the turntables at a club, rave or whatever.”

Craig D. Lindsey - Houston Press - Houston Press

"Spin Sisters"

DJ, musician, mother of invention, if you will, Sista Stroke -- she just wants to leave it at Sista Stroke -- is a twentysomethinger who obviously has a different take on deejaying. You could almost call it maternal, if it weren't for her ferocious skills behind the turntables at a club, rave or whatever... - Houston Press

"Manning The Booths"

"That's how you get your foot in the door. Your skills are going to make you get rebooked," says Oktober "Sista Stroke" Davila, a Chicago-based house DJ who started out in Houston. "That's always how I approached it." - Houston Press



  • La Pussa (12?) Dust Traxx 2005
  • Here To Stay (12?) Revolutionary Music 2006
  • Bobby Bounce VS. Sista Stroke Privat Box 2008
  • Put Some Grit In It Brick City House 2008
  • Moments EP Privat Box 2009
  • OG’s and Good Times Revolutionary Music 2010


  • Pump Dance EP "Pump Dance" (Sista's 'like that" rmx) D’lectable 2006
  • Talk About It EP "Talk About It" (Stroke's Backseat Banger) Revolutionary Music 2007
  • Moments Pt. 2 "Moments" (Sista Stroke's rmx) Blackliquid 2008
Appears On:
Tracks Appear On:
  • The Tongue Tied EP (12?) "Rhythmatic Stank, Sunshine & Laughter" Mother Tongue 2003
  • Untitled (12?) "ProtoLove" Igloo Music 2004
  • Catch Me (CD, Mixed) "La Pussa" (Johnny Fiasco rmx) Reinvent Music 2006
  • Revolutionary Music presents "Organica Lounge", Revolutionary Music 2010

Unofficial Vinyl Releases:

  • B2 "Back In The Day (Puff Puff Back)" (12?, Promo)
  • #1 Hook Up Tunes 2004
  • A1 "I’m Hot" (12?, Promo)
  • #1 Hook Up Tunes 2004
  • A1 "Jamayka Funk" (12?, Promo)
  • #6 Hook Up Tunes 2005
  • A2 "Poetic Master" (12?, Promo)
  • #6 Hook Up Tunes 2005
  • B1 "This Beat" (12?, Promo)
  • #6 Hook Up Tunes 2005
  • A1 "Golden Life" (12?, Promo)
  • Utensil Records 2006
  • B2 "Whatever" (12?, Promo)
  • Utensil Records 2006



Blessed with natural musical talent and the uncanny ability to nurture her gift through a relentless pursuit of inspiration, Sista Stroke is an emerging force in modern underground music. Her musical roots run deep and span the boundaries of genre and geography.  She is a child of the b-boy generation whose journey through life has included living in Houston, San Antonio, Panama, Chicago, and Los Angeles; more recently establishing her home base in London, England.  The rich cultural textures of these cities reverberate in her music.

Sista Stroke came up musically as a member of the legendary Rebel Crew, a musical family founded in Houston in the mid 80s by Joe B. and Rick Partida. As part of the Rebel Crew she played styles ranging from Hip Hop to Dance Hall, Jungle to Jazz, and Breaks to House always remaining anchored in soulful music. Her skills did not go unnoticed and she soon developed a following which called her to the road. In virtually no time Sista Stroke developed a hardcore fan base in cities around the United States, England and Mexico. She is known for beatin it hard, yet strokin’ the soul with an incredibly moving blend of deep, funky, and spiritual house music (however, she has more than just house in her arsenal).

As an accomplished drummer, pianist, and producer, Sista Stroke discovered her musical niche where she can truly explore the depths of her creativity and took her passion for soulful sound to the next level. Over the past thirteen years she has released original works and remixes ranging from House to Hip Hop to down-tempo on Mother Tongue, D’Lectable Records, Privat Box Music, Dusttrax, Hook-Up Tunes, Klassik Fiasco, House Sound of LA, and Revolutionary Music, along with some of the most sought after white labels in the industry.  In 2004 she became the preeminent in-house producer/remixer for Mother Tongue and Innuendo Records because of her gifted ability to produce quality material.  Through persistence in her original creations and remix work, Sista Stroke has made a name for herself in underground music.

She often appears alongside noteworthy acts ranging from house to hip-hop such as Afrika Bambaattaa, The Executioners, Tortured Soul, King Britt, Derrick Carter, Joey Beltram, Donald Glaude, DJ Dan, Method Man, Boo Williams, Mark Farina, Kaskade, Jason Hodges, and Super Jane (Lady D, Colette, Dayhota, and DJ Heather). Through development of her fanbase and a growing discography of successful production releases, she has established herself as a solid headlining act.

Sista Stroke hosts her successful weekly Freak Freely Fridays show to syndication on Beatminerz Radio, establishing her global brand through her infectious motto, “Freak Freely”. She's also debut her own party called "House AF" in 2018; an 9hr 'house party' experience curated around the relationships between industry-leading DJs & the dancers in an intimate setting, from the city of London to Amsterdam.

Sista Stroke makes it personal for the dancer and the listener; you can expect the funk, the sweat, the tracks that make you jump up and down, put the bounce in your step, and the smile on your face.  And that’s what her fans have come to know and love about her.