Gig Seeker Pro



Band Blues Rock


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos




"A truly memorable album! The man is a powerhouse, a truly inspired blues guitarist who has not only the technical proficiency to make his guitar do his bidding, but the emotional daring to let the music do its. And his voice has the rough-sawn quality of someone who has experienced all sides of life. All of the songs except one are in English, but even the Greek song "Na’rtheis," has the feel of the blues. Every song on TRANSBLUES reveals a slightly different facet of the blues, and they all work together to create a truly memorable album." - Jason Trask

"WPKN-FM, Bridgeport, CT"

ÒA truly gifted and multi-talented guitar player, singer and writer with a combination of both Greek and American musical cultures, who can project some of the most exciting electric, bottleneck, slide guitar runs, and straight-ahead, solo, down-home acoustic blues. HeÕs one hell of a player who will continue to carry the torch and keep the blues alive well into the 21st century. His recording work, both in Greek and English, with original songwriting skills, will delight listeners on both sides of the globe.Ó - Bill Nolan.

"Falcon Music & Art Productions, Inc."

ÒSpiros, with his New York-Greek accent, has a true voice of his own. Soukis Blues is some good old rockin' blues with powerful guitar in the style of early Eric Clapton; earthy vocals with their spice of the Greek isles, in combination with his strong guitar action--the show was delightful.Ó
- Tony Falco.

"AUDIO (Greece)"

"Blues-rock, funk spiced with Greek elements are the characteristics of Spiros Soukis's new release, LIGHTS OF VERTIGO, where he showcases a rare guitar-playing ability with an essential economy. This CD is a treasure not only for guitar players but for music lovers alike."
(Title of the Month; Five out of five stars) - Alekos Papadopoulos

"FRACTAL (Greece)"

"Spiros Soukis's live appearance with legendary Pavos Sidiropoulos, left me
open-mouth for a long while after the show ended. His technical ability on his instrument is astonishing as is his latest release, LIGHTS OF VERTIGO with Greek lyrics. This time his guitar playing surpasses his ability to write good songs and sing them with his deep, warm and sensuous voice."
(CD of the Month) - George Tsimas

"POP-ROCK (Greece)"

"LIGHTS OF VERTIGO is a new CD with Greek lyrics that showcases wonderful musical talent, wonderful guitar playing, good lyrics and very good blues-rock songs. Put it on your list of this month's proposals." - Giorgos Florakis


"Greek blues strikes ya funny, but think tragedy-comedy roots.
When I first heard about this guy from Greece playing a regular blues gig in a midtown bar, it sounded kinda not kosher. But I heard him once, I heard him twice, and now I keep giving my friends copies of this CD and trying to find other places for him to come play. He's the real damn deal. And when I listen, I start to associate the feeling behind his delivery of these standards and originals with what I know and love about the history of Greek drama-- the fundamental understanding of the tragic side of life, and the funny side of feeling bad, mad, and dangerous to know. Someday maybe he'll come out with a CD jacket with the faces of tragedy and comedy wailing and weeping, and my theory will catch on. Til then, I'm a TRANSBLUES fan, and wish Soukis all the luck in the world, wherever he travels, and especially wherever he plays." - Alice Smith Duncan


"I love this CD! Honest, straightforward blues rock. The real stuff! From start to finish, from the great, mid-tempo opener, "Time Was," to the last two, rocking, raw, live tracks, this CD is a treat. Reminiscent of Eric Clapton, it shows why pared down blues rock is having such a revival. And then there's the song "Na'rtheis" a Greek song-- so lovely, so heartfelt! An emotional, true feeling CD. Highly recommended." - Paula Bomer


* GUITARS OF TOMORROW, VOL. 1: US compilation featuring the instrumental, "Kathleen," (K.T. Recordz, 2007)
* TRANSBLUES: American debut (SoWell Music, 2004)
* LEGEND ROCKS 5: Greek compilation featuring four previously released songs (Legend, 2001)
* I MAGISSA TIS ARAPIAS: Greek release (Legend, 2000)
* LEGEND ROCKS 4: Greek compilation featuring five previously released songs (Legend, 2000)
* LIGHTS OF VERTIGO: Greek release, (Helios, 1996)

* I MAGISSA TIS ARAPIAS has streaming/radio airplay in Greece, throughout Europe and in the US including WKCR-FM, at Columbia University in NYC; WPKN-FM, Bridgeport, CT/Montauk, NY
* I MAGISSA TIS ARAPIAS is currently featured all over the world on websites with MP3 downloads, under: Spiros Soukis, Spyros Soukis and Spyros Soukhs
* TRANSBLUES has streaming/radio airplay throughout the world


Feeling a bit camera shy


Spiros Soukis, a native of Athens, Greece, began his love affair with the blues filtered through the British Invasion and guitar masters Peter Green, Eric Clapton, Robin Trower and Jeff Beck.

In time he learned about American slingers like Jimi Hendrix, Johnny Winter, Duane Allman and Harvey Mandel.

Reading liner notes and credits led him to discover the original men behind the music--Howlin' Wolf, Muddy Waters, Robert Johnson, etc. In the early '80s, Soukis started to perform and tour with Greek rock legend, Pavlos Sidiroupolos.

He studied guitar, piano and harmonica and eventually earned a degree in Music Theory and Harmony from the Athens Conservatory.

Soukis moved to Stockholm in the mid '80s where he performed live, taught guitar and earned a degree in Musicology from Stockholm University.

Back in Athens in the early '90s he formed the band, That's Why, which performed widely, recorded regularly and toured extensively. That's Why was the opener for a diverse group of musicians ranging from The Pixies to Peter Green himself.

The self-produced FOTA TOU ILIGGOU (LIGHTS OF VERTIGO), that was released in 1996; it received overwhelmingly positive reviews and was voted 'CD of the Month.' Reissued in September, 2000, many of its songs can be found in various compilations.

The U.S. Congress declared 2003 'Year of the Blues,' so Soukis arrived to live in New York City--from where he released TRANSBLUES a CD recorded in both Athens and his newly-adopted home. The recording consists of eight original songs Soukis wrote and on which he sings and plays guitar; two smokin' blues covers captured live in the heart of Manhattan round out this auspicious American debut.

Soukis regularly performs throughout the tri-state area of New York, Connecticut and New Jersey in clubs, concerts, music festivals and private events. He plays often at Scotland Yard in Hoboken, NJÑa premier blues venue where the top musicians in the region appearÑand B.B. KingÕs LucilleÕs in Manhattan.

A regularly featured guest on radio shows dedicated to the blues, Soukis has performed on ÒAntique Blues,Ó WPKN-FM, in Bridgeport, Connecticut and Montauk, New York; and "Something Inside Me," WKCR-FM, at Columbia University in Manhattan.

SoukisÕs instrumental, ÒKathleen,Ó is included in ÒGuitars of Tomorrow, Vol. 1,Ó an October, 2007, release by the Chicago indie label, K.T. Recordz.