Jazz quintet from Berlin that presents innovative and exciting original modern jazz combining sophisticated compositions, varied instrumentation, creative interplay and virtuoso improvisation.


Subtone stands in the forefront of today’s young innovative Jazz ensembles. Founded in 2005 in Berlin, its members now live on both sides of the Atlantic, in New York City, Berlin and Cologne. Through innumerable concerts at home and abroad, as well as appearances at festivals like the Bohemia Jazz Fest in the Czech Republic and Jazz Baltica in Salzau, Germany, Subtone quickly established themselves as one of the most sought-after jazz ensembles in Europe. After two acclaimed albums, in 2011 Subtone released their third album “Morningside” on ENJA-Records. Subtone is the winner of the Jury and Audience Award of the International Jazz Competition “Tremplin Jazz d’Avignon” in France.

The individual members are all accomplished performers. Collectively, they have won prestigious awards like the US National Trumpet Competition (Magnus Schriefl), the Bass Competition of the International Bass Convention (Matthias Pichler) and the ASCAP Young Jazz Composer Award (Florian Hoefner) and have collaborated with artists and groups like the Kurt Rosenwinkel Trio, Seamus Blake, Joe Lovano, Dave Liebman, Randy Brecker and the European Jazz Orchestra.

With their own imaginative compositions, the five artists offer an inexhaustible selection, from the voluminous big-band sound to a bare-essential chamber music approach. In addition to the apparent mastery over their instruments, it is above all the implicitness with which they communicate that is so striking.

What makes Subtone stand out from other ensembles is the impressive artistic connection among the five musicians. The listener perceives this intense communication and fundamental understanding among all members of the band in the very first notes.


Subtone. High Tide. Doublemoon Records, 2007
Subtone. Echolot. Skip Records, 2009
Subtone. Morningside. ENJA Records, 2011

Set List

Music from the current record "Morningside" and new repertoire.