Swami Jr.

Swami Jr.

 São Paulo, São Paulo, BRA

One of the most prominent seven-string guitarists in Brazil, as well as bass player, arranger and producer, Swami Jr. launches the CD "Mundos e Fundos", with compositions created during a world tour with the singer Omara Portuondo.


In its already long career, Swami Jr. recorded and performed with artists of the most importance at Brazilian and international music scenes, such as Omara Portuondo (Cuba), Chico Cesar, Elba Ramalho, Lokua Kanza (Congo), Zelia Duncan, Vanessa da Mata, Elza Soares, Zeca Baleiro, MPB4, Tom Ze, Rita Ribeiro, Luciana Souza, Jose Miguel Wisnik, Na Ozzetti, Danilo Caymmi, Rosa Virginia, Chico Pinheiro, Vania Bastos, Luiz Tatit, Marco Pereira, Marcos Suzano, Moska, Dominguinhos among others.

He released, together with saxophonist Mane Silveira, the CD "Ima" for the Nucleo Contemporaneo label (Brazil, 2000).

As a composer, had his song (in partnership with Paulo Freire) Bom Dia recorded by Zizi Possi in her album Valsa Brasileira (Velas, Brazil, 1994), awarded with the important Sharp Trophy for best album of that year; the song Fim de Ano (in partnership with Jose Miguel Wisnik) recorded by Vania Bastos at her album Diversoes Nao Eletronicas (Velas, Brazil, 1997); and the song Vou na Vida, a partnership with Virginia Rosa, recorded by her own at the album Batuque (Movie Play, Brazil, 1997).

In 2009, he launched through the French label World Village / Harmonia Mundi his solo album of songs, named Outra Praia. This work had Zelia Duncan, Vanessa da Mata, Chico Cesar, Zeca Baleiro, Marcelo Pretto, Luciana Alves and Chico Pinheiro great participations. The CD brings original compositions of Swami Jr. alone and in partnership with Jose Miguel Wisnik, Chico Cesar, Zeca Baleiro, Chico Pinheiro and Rosa Virginia. In Brazil, the same album had already been launched released in 2007 counting on Petrobras sponsorship under the Federal Law for the Culture Incentive.

He participated, in 2003, of the album recordings of the great Cuban singer Omara Portuondo (Buena Vista Social Club) in Havana (Cuba), along with musicians such as Cachaito, Roberto Fonseca, Demeetrio Muniz, Barbarito Torres and Amadito Valdes. Following the conclusion of this fantastic work, Swami Jr. became Omara's musical director in the worldwide launching tour by the end of 2007.

In 2003, he took part at the Seven String Project - A Brazilian Guitar, held at Centro Cultural Banco do Brasil (Sao Paulo - SP), alongside some of the biggest Brazilian guitarists like Dino 7 Cordas, Yamandu Costa, Rogerio Caetano, among other.

In 2006, he won the best arrangement award at the Festival Cultura (TV Cultura) for the song Contabilidade, a composition of Danilo Moraes and Ricardo Tete that also won the music festival. On that same year, he was nominated for the Tim Award, as the producer (along with Zeca Baleiro and Walter Souza) of the album Ode Descontinua e Remota para Oboe e Flauta De Ariana para Dionisio, which had the participation of Maria Bethania, Zelia Duncan, Angela Maria, Monica Salmaso, Na Ozzetti, Rita Ribeiro, Jussara Silveira, Veronica Sabino, Olivia Byington and Angela Ro Ro.

Swami Jr. was nominated to the 2006 Latin Grammy in the category "Sound Engineering" (together with Coto Guarino) for its work on the album De Uns Tempos Pra Ca, of the composer Chico Cesar.

Produced, along with Jaime Alem, the album Maria Bethania and Omara Portuondo, recorded in Rio de Janeiro early 2007, for the Biscoito Fino label. Such work was the winner of the 2009 Brazilian Music Award (formerly Tim Award) in the special projects' category.

In 2008, he produced, with Ale Siqueira, the album Gracias by Omara Portuondo (World Village / Harmonia Mundi, 2008), awarded the Best Contemporary Tropical Album at the 2009 edition of the Latin Grammy. The CD was recorded in Cuba with the participation of Trilok Gurtu, Avishai Cohen, Roberto Fonseca, Andres Coayo, Orlando Cachaito Lopez, Chico Buarque, Jorge Drexler, Pablo Milanes and Chucho Valdes, and its launch, held in September 2008, was followed by a large world tour by the end of 2010.

In 2011, Swami Jr. has just released his new work: the album Mundos e Fundos (Boranda, Brazil), produced with funding from the 2010 Funarte Award for Music Recording Support. This album, entirely instrumental, consolidates the guitarist and composer as "one of the most versatile and creative musicians on today's musical scene" (Carlos Calado)


Solo Albums:
- Outra Praia (2009, World Village / Harmonia Mundi)
- Mundos e Fundos (2011, Borandá)

Set List

1.) JURUPARI (Swami Jr.)
2.) EL PURO (Swami Jr.)
3.) SAUDADE DA BAHIA (Dorival Caymmi)
4.) HELENA (Swami Jr.)
5.) ABRAÇO (Swami Jr. / Chico Pinheiro)
6.) VALSA DE AREIA (Swami Jr.)
7.) VIROU FUMAÇA (Swami Jr.)
8.) CABELEIRA DO ZEZÉ (João Roberto Kelly / Roberto Faissal)
9.) DUAS ILHAS (Swami Jr. / Zeca Baleiro)
10.) TENDA (Tuco Marcondes)
11.) VIBRAÇÕES (Jacob do Bandolim)
12.) PALADINO (Swami Jr.)