sweet electraband
Gig Seeker Pro

sweet electraband


Band EDM Rock


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



"20 vital artists of latin rock"

“Producer Giovanni Escalera’s signature sound of feminine voices singing in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English over electronic bass and beats makes for calmly intense music.”

Enrique Blanc - La Banda Elastica L.A.

"the best albums of 2006"

“I can imagine Giovanni Escalera as he pays close attention to the smallest of details even as he plays keyboards, guitar, and programming. Guest vocals by Ceci Bastida (Ex-Tijuana NO!), and Japanese singer Sakiko Yocko round up the album nicely and I think CAMA is a stylish electro-rock album for exuberant souls!”

-- Oscar León Bernal (Music editor NYRemezcla.com, NYC)

"Mexican Vanguard (Vanguardia Mexicana)"

“From trip-hop to acid cabaret, everything fits in the musical spectrum of this group, which even dares to incorporate the sound of the violin into electronic music, giving it a unique texture and depth.”
-- (Victor Ronquillo).
- Grupo Reforma (MExico City)


- Lying to be Sweet. EMI music
- Cama Independent
- Eros una Vez Maria Soundtrack Music by Giovanni Escalera (sweet electra)

COMING SOON "When we abandoned earth" 2009

Remixed albums
- Firefly EP (remixes). EMI music.

- David Alvarado Firefly remix (Vinyl) Unique Distribution UK.
- Francezco Diaz “ An exciting house mix for a lovely springwalk”. Cala D’ Hort . SWEDEN
- DJ Lani “ First class house Vol 2”. Gallo Rcds. SOUTH AFRICA
- Latin Lounge EMI Music. US
- Acid Cabaret. EMI Capitol SPAIN.
- Ida y Vuelta. La Corporacion Muzic. U.S.



Beginning in 1996, Giovanni Escalera has been a key figure in the electronic music scene in Guadalajara, Mexico. In 2002, he formed Sweet Electra. That same year, the record company EMI/Nopal Beat signed the band and released its debut album: “Lying to be Sweet.”

“Lying to be Sweet” consists of a mixture of electronic and instrumental sounds. It advances house music conventions by including elements of down tempo, drum-and-bass and jazz, with lyrics in English, French, Portuguese, and Spanish. EMI distribute the album in the United States, Europe, Asia, and South America.

Sweet Electra then went on to participate in several international festivals, including Celebrate Mexico Now in New York, Romerias de Mayo in Cuba, Festival Vive Latino in Mexico City, and DJ MOTO Motorola in Mexico and Europe. Several tracks on “Lying to be Sweet” were released on compilations produced in South Africa, Spain, Germany, England, The United States, and Japan, and remixed by DJs such as Ben Watt, EBGT, David Alvarado and Wally Lopéz.

In the middle of 2006, Escalera recuited a new line-up to record Sweet Electra’s second album. With singer Nardiz Cooke, they released “Cama,” a disc with a distinctly more indie-rock sound than the first album. Featured singers include Cecilia Bastida of Tijuana No! and the Japanese singer Sakiko Yocko. In September of 2006, Sweet Electra headlined the Celebrate Mexico Now festival in New York. Now living in New York, the group is performing regularly with local drummer Monica Rodriguez and working on a third album.