Gig Seeker Pro


Norman, Oklahoma, United States | INDIE

Norman, Oklahoma, United States | INDIE
Band Rock Metal




"Gaze backward for beauty in the digital age"

Syloken: Life, Love and the Birth of the Digital Flower
Zanzibar Records

This is a multi-layered disc from our rich Norman music scene. Syloken (don't ask about the name) is John Thomas (vocals, bass, guitar, keys), Chris McDaniel (guitar, backup vocals), Brendan Furneaux (theremin, keys, hand drum), Alex Hake (guitar) and Zach Hollandsworth (percussion). The CD was produced by Ben Lindesmith and the band. They bring their talents together in a 14-track marathon of an album that weaves contemporary musicality with some relatively ancient influences.

"We've been listening to a lot of Yes and King Crimson," Thomas said. Track eight, "Civilized," contains a lengthy passage recalling some of the more sophisticated work by Traffic in their "Low Spark of High Heeled Boys" era. Elements of jazz and rock are amalgamated into what was called acid jazz back in the day. Thomas' lyrics, around a thousand words here, are presently among the best being written in this burg. "This is the time to throw away lies/ and look at the facts we know through unfiltered eyes," he sings on "Endless Beginnings." Passion and introspection are the hallmarks of these songs. Flowers blossom and wither. Creation of a digital image as the title suggests, strives for eternal beauty, the aim of all art. - The Norman Transcript


"Kyusai" - 2004 LP

"Too Much Sunshine" - 2008 EP

"Life, Love, and the Birth of the Digital Flower" - 2009 LP

"Flying Carpet" - 2011 Single (Released on the 2011 Zanzibar! Records sampler)



Like many progressive rock bands Syloken has a sound which is hard to describe with words. It can be loud, it can be soft. It's pretty but often harsh. It's fast! unless it's moving slow... It's six members site influences from across all genres of music so pointing to any one band's sound to describe them is difficult. 1970's progressive influences play a large roll for sure but there are strong seasonings of 80's new wave, early 90's grunge and industrial, and 1960's psychedelic to help the flavor.

Syloken was Born out of the mind of John Thomas in 2004 while living in Los Angeles, CA. After the self release of the debut album "Kyusai" Mr. Thomas moved back to his home town of Norman, OK, USA to join forces with old musical mates Ben Carter (of Lazarus IV, Zebre, The Needles) on bass, Chris McDaniel (of Ghost of Monkshood, Gaea Spore, FRMR) on guitar and Brendan Furneaux (Gaea Spore) on cittern, hand percussion and keys. Guitar player Alex Hake was recruited to the group by Ben Carter after they worked together on the Urizen EP(2005) and with the addition of Zach Hollandsworth on Drums Syloken the live band was born (January 2006).

Syloken played several live performances in the Norman/OKC area before Ben Carter left the group in late 2007 to focus on other projects. With the departure of Carter, John Thomas graduated from lead singer to lead singer/bass player. As a 5 piece the band's sound started to find its real focus and sound. Meter shifting compositions like "Making Flowers" and "Every Breath is Now" came to define the bands live set as well as set direction for the bands first full length album, "Life, Love and the Birth of the Digital Flower"(2009 Zanzibar! Records). Since the release of "Digital Flower" the band continued to refine its live sound and has established itself as a must see in the local Norman music scene. In August 2011 Dexter Ford was added to the Syloken family to relieve John of his bass duties and returning the band to a six piece line up. Currently the band is primarily focused on writing and recording its next full length LP with hopes of a Summer 2012 release.