Sylvia Brooks

Sylvia Brooks


The wonderful Sylvia Brooks and her stellar group of musicians perform dynamic new pop arrangements of great American and Jazz Standards. Sylvia and her group have received 6 Critics Choice Picks in the Los Angeles Times under Jazz & World.


Sylvia Brooks is an exciting and dynamic performer, who sings pop with a classic standard and jazz influence. Collaborating with top musicians out of Los Angeles, this ensemble focuses on performing big band arrangements of material that they have developed through rehearsals and performances at major venues in the Los Angeles area. As one critic says " Ms. Brooks is alive and innovative, and brings relevance to the stage". Glamor and excitement is their motto. The recent recipient of six Los Angeles Times Critics Choice picks, all are highly respected and gifted artists. Tom Garvin, Sylvia's musical director, arranger and pianist has written and arranged for Diana Krall, Anita Baker and others. Jeff Colella, keyboards, was Lou Rawl's musical director for 10 years. Jamie Havorka, trumpet, plays with Manhattan Transfer and recently toured with the Brian Setzer Orchestra. Kim Richmond, saxophone and flute, just recorded the new Diana Krall and Barbara Streisand single for Columbia Records.


Our CD sampler "Live at the Jazz Bakery" has been played on local stations. We are currently completing our new album, which will be available at stores and online on April 15th.

Set List

Our show has received multiple standing ovations. A sample set list (60- 75 minutes) is:
1. I'm Gonna Live Till I Die
2. When The Sun Comes Out
3. Come Rain Or Come Shine
4. Sway
5. Blues In The Night
6. Havana
7. Blue Alert
8. Feelin' Good
9. Sophisticated Lady
10. Desifinado
11. Never Dance
12. Cry Me A River
13. Harlem Nocturne
14. Lush Life
15. The Man That Got Away