The Hunting Project
Gig Seeker Pro

The Hunting Project

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States | Established. Jan 01, 2019

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Established on Jan, 2019
Band Alternative Punk




"Review: The Hunting Project - The Hollowing"

A friend of mine was recently lamenting that it seems that artists these days only care about the single, fleshing out the rest of their albums with throw-away filler. I get that sentiment, especially for those who primarily listen to commercial radio. My humble suggestion was, as is so often the case, to dive into the local music scene, where albums are complete works, with every song lovingly crafted. The big budgets of major labels simply aren’t there, so the artists have to believe each song is worth the time and effort (read: “money”) to commit to tape. In short, local bands don’t record throw-away songs.

Take for example The Hollowing, the debut full-length from up-and-coming Cincinnati alt-rockers The Hunting Project. Each of the ten songs on the album feel important in intentional. That’s not to imply that there’s any redundancy among these songs – each is a unique, standalone work that can be enjoyed just as well on its own as it can as part of the whole.

The album opens with “Fade to Gray,” which was originally released as a single on February 2019. It’s a big, loud statement that sets the tone for the album and the band, with a raw emotion carried through and amplified on “Emerge” and “Bliss Notes,” though that same emotional banner is carried expertly – and quite dynamically – throughout the entire album. Other standouts include the driving “Visions,” the sobering, contemplative “Violence,” and the closer “Smoke Signals,” a pensive and introspective end to a cathartic ride of an album.

The Hunting Project refer to their fans as “the strays,” invited from their disparate backgrounds into a cohesive family. In a way, that is a great metaphor for The Hollowing – each song feeling at once alone and together, with the resulting album being much greater than the sum of its parts – like somewhere between a rougher Architects and an updated Anti-Flag. If you’re looking for a good, loud alt-rock/post punk album with no filler, The Hollowing is for you. - CincyMusic

"Introducing The Hunting Project – the next big thing in the hardcore world"

Hailing from Cincinnatti, Ohio and originally making loud, balls to the wall punk music with sentiments that would make Rise Against proud (a favourite band of guitarist Joey Sorenson and vocalist Cole Thompson) Grizzly! dropped their debut EP ‘A Fruitless Tree‘ in May 2018, following two singles ‘The Trap‘ (still an absolute banger, I won’t hear anyone say otherwise) and ‘Coexistent Combatants‘. When you think of debut EP’s, generally you might think they won’t push too many boundaries, laying down a bassline for a band to build upon. While the latter would turn out to be true, the former is not. ‘Development‘ and ‘The Trap‘ are straight up punk songs, while ‘Homecoming‘ is an almost folky little track that I adored right away. ‘Coexistent Combatants‘ is about as radio friendly as they get, reminding me a little of Neck Deep, while ‘Wolves Among Your Sheep’ took it completely in the opposite direction, a hardcore punk assault.

You might wonder why I’m babbling on about an EP released by these guys under a different name with a different drummer. Because this EP brought me close to Joey and Cole, and I thus got a front seat to watch where they went. And my, what a show!

After adding drummer Daniel Ferguson to the line up of Joey (guitars) and Cole (vocals) and Saed Hattar (bass), these guys have written an unbelievable amount of songs for their forthcoming full length, eventually whittling themselves down to nine tracks, recorded at the Audio Compound. The as yet untitled (officially, at least) record will drop in the summer, but has been preceded by two singles, ‘Fade To Gray‘ and ‘Violence‘. The former was the transition track, a perfect balance of where they’d been – raw punk – and where they’re going. It’s huge and unmissable and if you like anything from Rise Against, Trash Boat, early Beartooth and the like, it’s definitely for you. ‘Violence‘, however, was more like Trash Boat meets Bring Me The Horizon‘s ‘That’s The Spirit‘ record, melodious and heavy hitting. They show how in control they are of their writing abilities and their respective instruments.

The endgame for these guys is to make a creative, original rock album. Every track has a personal meaning, but also a political and social edge. You can get into it as deeply as you like. You can follow these guys solely for good songs, or you can follow them for those deeper meanings, those powerful messages. It’s really up to you. Coming soon will be their third single, ‘Bury Me‘, a track I’ve had the pleasure of hearing two demos of, one in the early stages and one more recently. The early one was, lets say, punk. I don’t think, at that point, they’d even announced that they’d changed from Grizzly! to The Hunting Project. The newer demo, however, was like a My Chemical Romance track with a Beartooth chorus. It’s my favourite of theirs so far, and I haven’t heard the finished mix yet.

Although I think I heard another one, and I’m pretty sure I told Cole that one was my favourite.

They’re really good. I forget which tracks are the best if I’m honest. - AltCorner


I : The Hollowing - debut album
1. Fade to Gray
2. Bury Me 
3. Violence
4. A Dreamless Sleep
5. Visions
6. Dark Mage
7. Nasty Bones
8. Bliss Notes 4.17
9. Smoke Signals
10. Emerge



        The Hunting Project's camp is located inside the walls of Cincinnati, Ohio. Re-branded in 2019 from a Melodic Hardcore Punk Band, they have found a unique sound to add to their unique image. Working with producers Andy Karpovck, Andrew Wade, Johnny Franck, and Lee Albrecht, their debut album was crafted.  

      Major Acts such as Architects, Twenty One Pilots, MCR, Ghostemane, and Deftones could all be found in extensive list of influences backing the unique touch of their 10 track debut album: The Hollowing. Known for their complex visuals, energetic live shows, and emotional connection, The Hunting Project has plans to takeover the world this year. 2019 was meant for laying down the blue prints, 2020 is meant for domination. The group is already demoing for LP2 and is expecting to record December 2019 - February 2019. 

      THP has a story to tell and their fire has only grown stronger. The Strays is the community built around the band consisting of members all across the globe. Singled out they walk alone, but together they are a family of misfits. 

Band Members