The Bloody Tinth
Gig Seeker Pro

The Bloody Tinth

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States | Established. Jan 01, 2008

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Established on Jan, 2008
Band Americana Celtic




"Bloody Tinth Appear at Nine Irish Brothers"

Get Ready for a GREAT BAND 

The Bloody Tinth travels all the way from Cincinnati, Ohio to Nine Irish Brothers in Lafayette on Saturday, February 16!  The Bloody Tinth is an enormously talented and energetic Celtic rock band with plenty of moxy and a penchant for off-beat fun.  This band does an amazing job of covering all the Irish standards we hold near and dear to our hearts, but they are still original and fresh.  They even throw in a couple of gems from yesteryear (such as "Laid" by James) for good measure.  This is a band with no pretense that will blow you away--lots of energy and enthusiasm, lots of talent, and lots of fun.  

Oh yeah: A little bit about the name: At the start of the American Civil War, Cincinnati's Irish boys answered the call for volunteers and marched to battle as the Ohio 10th Reg.  They were so fierce and brave in battle that, by the time the war was through, they were nicknamed The Bloody Tinth.  Also fierce, this band counts Black 47, Flogging Molly, the Dropkick Murphys, Van Morrison, The Waterboys, the Police, and the Cheiftains among their eclectic influences.

Get here early because they bring a crowd!  If you can't make it tonight, that's okay.  They'll be playing across town on Friday. - Nine Irish Brothers


Elevator - online release 2013

Good Ship Rising - released March 2011



In 2008 siblings, drummer Michael Sams and violinist Rachel Sams-Schott raised a Guinness and resolved to collaborate on a project that would toast their shared love of Scottish-Irish influenced acoustic rock.  When the brother-sister duo met Ryan Gorsuch (guitar and lead vocals), Joe Kendall (mandolin/guitar) and Nick Lorenz (electric bass) a strong, playful, super-charged sound emerged - a perfect representation of the personalities that were involved.

The new five-piece struck gold when they learned that the all-Irish Ohio Volunteer 10th infantry, formed in Cincinnati at the start of the Civil War, was nicknamed "the Bloody Tinth". 

The Tinth regularly performs in all the major cities of Ohio and appear in pubs and festivals in Indiana, Kentucky, Illinois, Florida, and Pennsylvania. Young audiences love the rock, traditionalists dig the Irish fiddle, and all ages enjoy the fire and fun that is The Bloody Tinth.

Band Members