The Blue Threads
Gig Seeker Pro

The Blue Threads

Band Rock Alternative


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



"The Houston Chronicle"

I found the story of the Blue Threads to be an interesting one. Front man Dalton Dunn has been playing blues jams since the very un-blues-like age of 10. He met drummer Brandon Custer at a blues jam a few years ago, eventually forming the Blue Threads with a revolving cast of bass players. Now, at age 17, Dunn credits Matt Leddy, the Mighty Orq, Mark May, Steve Krase -- whose son, Gaven, is the band's current bassist -- and Benny Brasket as just a few of his mentors. Dunn was very much a boy raised on the blues by players you see every weekend at the Howlin' Coyote and the Big Easy.
Most of the musicians I interview are in their 20s and 30s and take this music gig seriously. I don't receive a lot of CDs from local, teenage garage bands (though they friend me on MySpace, for sure), but the ones I do get usually aren't as well put-together as the Blue Threads' album is. The covers are well-executed and the originals, while a bit rough at times, show a young band clearly learning from its elders, not aping its contemporaries like so many copycat emo bands. Man, even aping your elders these days is a refreshing change from so many bands that want to be just like Fall Out Boy. So listen to the podcast and keep an eye on these kids. I don't think Dalton Dunn will rest until he's famous and it would help if you paid attention.

- Sarah Cress/2007

"Music News/Houston"

Apparently, no one explained the sophomore jinx to The Blue Threads. Their second CD, “Take This Smile” is an exhilarating piece of work that not only picks up where their fine debut album left off, it takes the music to a new level. You can actually hear the band grow as musicians and songwriters from one recording to the next. The Blue Threads are Dalton Dunn (Guitar & Vocals), Chris Spencer (Bass) and Brandon Custer (Drums). “Take This Smile” is a barrage of controlled mayhem that is a throwback to the 70’s guitar band era spearheaded by such artists as The Ramones, The Stooges, and Iggy Pop. The band’s blues & rock influences are evident as well, giving these seven tracks a truly original feel. The album kicks off with “I’m Not The One”, a prototypical Blue Threads piece. The raw production on this number, as well as on the entire offering, perfectly suits the aggressive tone of the song. “Strip” sports a classic Ramones sound, but features smart mood & tempo changes. Spencer contributes some nifty bass lines on “Follow” and Dunn’s solo fretwork on “Nothing Inside” is perhaps his finest. He reminds me of Ace Frehley in his prime, both with his tone and his phrasing.
The CD wraps up with the title track, the album’s only real change of pace. It moves nicely with a Red Hot Chili Peppers groove, complete with funk guitar and another impressive bass track. All three musicians are to be commended for their restraint. Though clearly talented players, each understands when NOT to play. As a result, the performances are passionate but not self-indulgent, and the product is all the better for it.
- Steve Rangel/July 2009


The Blue Threads (self-titled LP)- 2007
Take This Smile (LP)- 2009

The song "Ain't Too Late" can be heard on



The Blue Threads are a 3-piece band from Houston, Texas. Their style is a mix of rock, blues, reggae and funk. They entered and placed third among artists many years their senior in the Houston round of the International Blues Competition in 2006. The Blue Threads released their first self-titled CD in June of 2007, consisting of 6 original songs and 6 covers. All of the band members are originally from the Houston area - Dalton Dunn/Guitar & Vocals, Chris Spencer/Bass Guitar & Vocals, & Brandon Custer/Drums.
In October 2007 they were bestowed the honor of opening act at the Meridian Houston for renowned blues artist Johnny Winter. More recently, they opened for Tab Benoit at Fitzgerald’s in June 2009.
The Blue Threads 2009 CD, “Take This Smile” was released July 17, 2009. Consisting of 7 songs, all penned by bandleader Dalton Dunn, the new album is sure to gain the attention of music lovers of all ages and many different genres.