The Denial Stage

The Denial Stage


The Denial Stage is a refreshing kick in the teeth for rock and roll. Incorporating elements of industrial, alternative and metal, along with a flashy, in-your-face live show and dark themes, we provide an alternative for your every day, run-of-the-mill, safe mainstream rock band.


The Denial Stage is a stage in which all rational thought is frozen by longing to maintain a false emotion. A concept Canfield native Steven Rubosky expanded on in 2005 when he and drummer Ryan Mehle twisted it into a matter of artistic expression via dark industrial-rock; thus The Denial Stage was conceived.
The Denial Stage is the work of mastermind producer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Steve Rubosky. Shortly after Rubosky began working with Mehle in 2005, the creative wheels began to spin. And after a year and a half of writing and experimentation, the album Facing Extinction was given life in 2007.
Facing Extinction is a collection of 15 industrial-alt-rock heavy hitters which only further rounds out the recurring theme of The Denial Stage. Written entirely by Rubosky with beats and percussion provided by Mehle, Facing Extinction is a melting pot of layered soundscapes, tormented lyrics, dark piano lines and grinding guitar riffs. Cuts like "Am I Still Alive" and "Ten Times More" contain a moody blend of piano-driven melody and bone-chilling emotional lyrics while upbeat rockers such as "Virus" and "Miles of Nerve" showcase a heavy guitar ass-kicking. The album provides a refreshing withdrawal from the typical bland, safe route taken by many of today's common rock outfits and middle finger to that general formula.
In late 2007, Rubosky and Mehle decided to take their monster to the next level by assembling a live band to perform tracks from Facing Extinction. Rubosky's childhood friend Ryan McCullough was first recruited for keyboards and synthesizers. Shortly thereafter lead guitarist Justin Edwards and bassist/keyboardist Rick Polo joined, rounding out the line-up with Mehle on drums and Rubosky taking on lead vocals and rhythm guitar. By February of 2008 the live version of the Denial Stage began rehearsing and preparing to take the Youngstown scene by the balls.
The Denial Stage made their live debut on June 21, 2008 at the Cellar in Struthers. The show was a huge success and following quickly began to grow. The band continued to perform in the area throughout the remainder of 2008, including noteworthy high-profile gigs at Peabody's in Cleveland and Barley's in downtown Youngstown.
The end of 2008 saw the departure of guitarist Justin Edwards, but new beginnings are on the horizon for the band. As of early 2009, the band has been rehearsing with new guitarist Blaine Chuey. The Denial Stage plans to continue their assault on the scene well into 2009 and beyond and spit in the face of rock and roll!


Facing Extinction
1. Buying Happiness
2. Am I Still Alive
3. Ten Times More
4. Virus
5. Miles Of Nerve
6. Guilt Free
7. Worst Of Breed
8. The Inconsiderate
9. Sex
10. Conditioning
11. Choices
12. Facing Extinction
13. Just Like You
Bonus Tracks:
14. Judge, Jury and Executioner
15. Ego

Producer: Steve Rubosky

Tracks can be found streaming at

Set List

40-50 minute set on average.
No covers performed live as of now.

Set list from 4/25/09 at The Cellar in Struthers, OH
1. Ego
2. Virus
3. Ten Times More
4. Conditioning
5. Guilt Free
6. Buying Happiness
7. Miles Of Nerve