The Draft

The Draft


Melodic rock with a descriptive atmospheric sound.


The Draft are a five piece Dublin based rock band who have played extensively in Dublin with gigs at venues like Whelans, Crawdaddy, The Hub & The Sugar Club and are building an ever increasing following and a reputation as a superb live group.

Old school friends Karl McHugh and Lucan local John Lynagh (bass) played together in several bands before forming The Draft. Lynagh was given the job of "rounding up" the rest of the group members - Ian O'Connor (drums), Dave Kilcline (guitar) and Lewis Brien (keyboards).

Speaking of the band's line-up, Karl says: "I think we're all good musicians. I think we're original; we're not stuck to any one style..."

"There's just a very wide variety of tastes in the band and because we're all involved in writing songs...everybody gets to bring a little bit to the finished sound."

Their first demo received airplay on Today FM, 2FM and local radio as well as numerous press reviews. They have recently finished recording their debut EP, V.2.6, which was launched in February to a packed house in Crawdaddy, Dublin. They look forward to recording a debut single in the near future.


EP - V.2.5
Tracks available to download from and

Set List

Another Grey Day (original, avail to download)
Let Me Know (original, avail to download)
Virtual Life (original, avail to download)
Digital Replay (original, avail to download)
Where Is My Mind (Pixies cover)
More To Life than this (original, new)
Is She Really Going Out With Him (Joe Jackson cover)
Standing Still (original)
Nightflier (original)
Selling Lines (original, new)
Destruction Queen (original)
Love Is The Drug (Roxy Music cover)
Illusion (original, avail to download)
Wide Open Space (Mansun cover)