The Electric Soft Parade

The Electric Soft Parade


Brighton-based indie rock band comprising of siblings Alex and Tom White.


The Electric Soft Parade are a Brighton-based indie rock band comprising siblings Alex and Tom White, who are the creative core of the band, as well as a number of other musicians who they record and perform live with.

Alex and Tom formed Fixed Ascent, which became The Feltro Media (with bassist Alistair Gavan, now of Diomedes), before renaming themselves The Soft Parade and signing to indie label DB in early 2001 (without Gavan). They added the 'Electric' part of their name shortly after their early singles began getting some attention in the rock press - they were threatened with legal action by a Doors tribute band if they did not change it. This did not halt their rise to (relative) fame at all, however, and their debut album, Holes In The Wall, was issued in February 2002. It was nominated for the Mercury Music Prize later that year, although they did not win the award.

Their second album, The American Adventure appeared in October 2003, now on BMG records.

Alex and Tom have since started a side project in the form of Brakes with British Sea Power's Eamon Hamilton and Marc Beatty of The Tenderfoot. The White brothers have also been assisting up-and-coming Brighton acts such as The Pipettes and Actress Hands.

Better Looking Records released The Human Body EP in N. America on May 9, 2006 with an exclusive bonus track. The Electric Soft Parade will release their much anticipated 3rd full-length "No Need To Be Down-Hearted" on Better Looking Records on April 24, 2007.


2002 - "Holes In The Wall" LP (db/BMG)
2003 - "American Adventure" LP (db/BMG)
2006 - "The Human Body" EP (Better Looking Records)
2007 - "No Need To Be Down-Hearted" (Better Looking Records)