The Ganjas
Gig Seeker Pro

The Ganjas

Band Rock Alternative


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



This band has no press


* The Ganjas (LP) - 2003
* Fuma y Mira (EP) - 2004
* Laydown (LP) - 2005
* The Jacqueline Trash/The Ganjas- split argentino- 2006
* Daybreak (LP) - 2007
* This is the time 2002-2007 (LP)- 2008
* Loose (LP) - 2009



The Ganjas is a rock band from Santiago, Chile. Their sound stems from influences such as psychadellic rock, shoegaze, stoner rock, dub, reggae, space rock and Latin American rock.

The band was formed in 2000 by Samuel Maquieira (Sam) (vocals and guitar), Rafael Astaburuaga (Pape) (bass guitar and vocals) and Aldo Benincasa (drums)

In addition to the set band members (which now also includes Pablo Giadach on guitar) various musicians have collaborated with The Ganjas over the years, including Luis Felipe Saavedra on synths and keyboards, Miguel Montenegro (comegato), Luciano Mariño, Álvaro Gómez, Rodrigo Astaburuaga.


After a year in the rehersal room, The Ganjas begin gigging in 2001 and are warmly welcomed on the live music scene. They quickly develop a solid fan base and go on to play a steady stream of gigs throughout 2002.

Their initial success leads them to the studio and they record their debut album, "The Ganjas" with Algo Records in 2003. The album’s recieves great reviews and the press increasingly covers thier live shows. The album release is followed by two hit singles and their respective videos, "Let´s go to the beach" y "Dark Side", which gain major air time.

Mid-2004 the band releases "FUMA & MIRA" a recording of the live show at "Chile Musica en vivo" at Universidad de Chile radio. The album is released independently by The Ganjas.

The band is invited to play at major music festivals and develops ties with key players in the music industry and press, both at home and abroad in Argentina, Colombia, Australia, Brasil, Venezuela, Uruguay, Ecuador and the States for interviews and coverage.

This wide-spread coverage is followed by the recording of "Laydown" in 2004 with Algo Records. Record cd sales and live show attendance confirms the album’s great reception by press and fans. They launch the album around the country and are invited to close the prestigious Rock al Parque festival in Colombia.

The success of Laydown marks the end of The Ganjas’ first period as a band determined to keep on moving forward. At the end of 2005, keyboardist Luis Felipe Saavedra leaves the band for personal reasons. With “Laydown” the band is nominated at APES (asociación de periodistas de espectáculo) as Best Rock Band. In 2006 the band collaborates with old friends Luciano Mariño (who participated in side-project The Versions) and Rodrigo Astaburuaga (guitarist from sister-band Camión) on two new tracks and gigs. In the same year the band has its first international release, a split with Argentinian band, The Jacqueline Trashcon, which includes outtakes from the "Laydown" recording sessions.

In 2007 The Ganjas plays at Vive Latino 2007 en Santiago, Chile. The same year they launch "Daybreak" with Algo Records, which recorded and produced Pablo Giadach (who also begins playing guitar with the band)

In 2008 Algo Records gets together with Oveja Negra, Chile’s Author’s Rights Society’s (SCD) record label to release “This is the time-The Singles” – a complilation of the band’s hits from previous albums.

Later in the year the band travels to Brasil to play at major festivals and tour in Sao Paulo, Goiania y Rio de Janeiro and shares the stage with Helmet, The Vaselines, Black Mountain, Black Lips, among others. Once back in Chile they play at top Chilean festival SUE, along with REM y The Jesus & Mary Chain. In January 2009 they play at 2a Cumbre del Rock Nacional to over 50.000 people with 80 other bands.

After two years of non-stop touring they return to the studio to record new album, “Loose”, in Febuary 2009. The album is produced by Pablo Giadach at his studio Orange and is mastered in Argentina by Eduardo Bergallo. Its release by Oveja Negra and Algo Records is followed by an album tour throughout 2009.