The Jazz Passengers

The Jazz Passengers

 New York City, New York, USA

The Jazz Passengers juxtapose mellifluous crooning, adventurous post-bop and stylistic eclecticism with irrepressible charm and sophisticated humor.


The Jazz Passengers are a venerable NYC-based ensemble still in their original incarnation, with Roy Nathanson, Curtis Fowlkes, Brad Jones, Bill Ware, Sam Bardfeld and E.J. Rodriguez.

The infectious onstage witty repartee and undeniable joie de vivre of the Jazz Passengers has perhaps contributed to a perception of the group being less than serious. Here is a serious group whose playing is also highly accessible – and wasn’t jazz supposed to be like this? Reunited, as with all past Passengers recordings, features a blend of group vocals as well as showcased guest vocals, with trombonist Curtis Fowlkes leading the way. Along with Grady Tate, he’s got to be one of the best instrumentalists that also possess a killer voice.


Reunited, 2010
Individually Twisted, 1997
In Love, 1994
Implement Yourself, 1990