The JJ Schultz Band

The JJ Schultz Band


Beautifully written country ballads ala Willie Nelson and Townes Van Zandt mixed with some western rock reminiscent of Steve Earle and Gram Parsons. When performing with his band, the songs are wrapped in lush 3 part harmonies, weepy slide guitar, and thumping stand up bass.


JJ Schultz is an Americana artist whose songwriting evokes the small town pathos of Nebraska era Springsteen, Steve Earle, and Townes Van Zandt.

His debut solo album, "Bustin' Outa Town", was released in June 2004 out of Last Stop Records in San Francisco. The 12 song effort has been very well received by critics and beer drinkers alike. It has been an editor's pick on the Western charts at CD Baby since its release.

His follow up, "Something to me" was released in October 2005, and by November, it registered #12 on the Euro-Americana chart (Neil Young was #13)

He performs regularly with his band, featuring Manny B on drums, Roy Elder on standup bass, Scotty "Rock and Roll" Robertson on slide and lead guitar, and Fred Odell on harmonica and lead guitar.

JJ Schultz Band shows, with their whisky soaked harmonies and lonesome slide guitar, will remind you of when you caught Merle Haggard at some small town beer bar - where the women were friendly and you had to shake the peanut shells off your boots.


Live at Hotel Utah - 2002
Bustin' Outa Town - 2004
Something to me - 2005

Set List

Typical 45 minute setlist:
1. Bustin' outa town
2. Song of the Independent Rancher
3. Max my dog
4. Someone who's not me
5. County backroad
6. Ol' 55
7. Drinkin' you off my mind
8. Something to me
9. Jackie you, Jackie me