The Longcut
Gig Seeker Pro

The Longcut

Band Alternative EDM


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



This band has no press


Transition EP (UK, 2004)
Deltasonic/Sony BMG
1. Transition

2. Late Night Bus

3. A Last Act Of Desperate Men

A Quiet Life EP (UK, 2005)
Deltasonic/Sony BMG
1. A Quiet Life

2. DVT

3. Dead Man

The Longcut EP (Australia & Japan, 2006)
Deltasonic/Sony BMG
1. Transition

2. Late Night Bus

3. A Last Act Of Desperate Men

4. A Quiet Life

5. DVT (Aus. EP only)

6. Dead Man

A Call And Response (2006)
Label: Deltasonic/Sony BMG
1. A Last Act Of Desperate Men

2. Gravity In Crisis

3. Transition

4. Holy Funk

5. A Tried And Tested Method

6. A Quiet Life

7. The Kiss Off

8. Lonesome No More

9. Vitamin C

10. Spires

Vitamin C (2006)
Label: Deltasonic/Sony BMG
1. Vitamin C
2. Vitamin C (Four Tet Remix)

A Tried And Tested Method (2006)
Label: Deltasonic/Sony BMG
1. A Tried And Tested Method

2. You Are Nothing Without Your Robot Car

3. Circus Time (Euros Childs cover)

Airtight Session Live EP (Download only, 2006)
Label: Deltasonic/Sony BMG
1. Idiot Check

2. Gravity In Crisis

3. Lonesome No More

4. The Kiss Off

You Got The Love /Idiot Check (2007)
Label: Melodic
1. You Got The Love

2. Idiot Check

Open Hearts (2009)
Label: Melodic
1.Out at the Roots

2.Something Inside

3 Tell You So

4 Evil Dance

5 You Can Always Have More

6 Open Hearts

7 At Any Time

8 Mary Bloody Sunshine

9 Repeated

10 Boom

11 The Last Ones Here



The Longcut formed in Manchester in 2002 while attending the University of Manchester. Originally a four-piece, their vocalist left soon after the band started and the remaining members intended to make purely instrumental music. In 2003 their experiments with cheap drum machines led to a new sound and their unusual stage setup. The band's original sound and energetic live performances brought them to the attention of the record industry in 2004, eventually signing to Liverpool's Deltasonic label. During 2004 the band also became friends with Manchester promoters Akoustik Anarkhy and indie/grunge band, Nine Black Alps. The two groups shared bills together at various house parties (one in Longsight was filmed for the video to 'Transition') organised by Akoustik Anarkhy and The Longcut, eventually touring together in early 2006.

The Longcut released their debut EP 'Transition' in November 2004, followed by 'A Quiet Life' in June 2005. Both EPs sold out and were well received by the music press. The band continued to tour throughout 2005, including appearances at SXSW, Glastonbury Festival and Fuji Rock Festival. Work on their debut album, A Call and Response, began in the summer of 2005. Production duties were handled by Jonny Dollar (who had previously worked on Massive Attack's 'Blue Lines') and was mixed by TV on the Radio's David Andrew Sitek. A mini-album (a compilation of their UK EP's) was released internationally in 2006.

A Call and Response was released on June 12th 2006, followed by Vitamin C as a lead promotional single. A Tried and Tested Method would soon follow, and continued to attract album sales, released on October 2nd. The single received more media coverage than any of their other releases to date, with the video being played frequently on a lot of the UK music channels. Since the release of A Call and Response the band have gone on to release The Airtight Sessions EP. The disc is a compilation of the band's previous work with new song Idiot Check making up the four-track listing. The E.P can be bought at Apple Computer's iTunes store, but for a limited time after release was free to download for all subscribers to the band's official site.

The next release by the band was a 7" single on the Melodic Records label, on 19 March 2007. Limited to 500 copies, the double A-side featured "Idiot Check" (recorded at the sessions for A Call And Response) and a cover of the Candi Staton rave track "You Got the Love".

This was followed by recording of their second album. Produced by Nine Black Alps guitarist David Jones, the album Open Hearts was released as a download on the Melodic Records website in June 2009, and released physically in October 2009.