The Modelos

The Modelos


The Modelos are Vancouver's Rock 'n' Roll Cowboy Surfers! The group formed in 2004 when Joe Rotundo & Mike Kenney collaborated in a songwriting adventure that produced their 1st CD. Brad Ferguson & Geoff Hicks were the natural rhythm section, & thus born was The Modelos.


Vancouver's Rock 'n' Roll Cowboy Surfers are back! The Modelos are ridin' high in "Saddle Justice", their latest cinescopic adventures have the Modelo brothers riding along with sharp shooters like Neko Case's Paul Rigby and Mother Mother's Debra-Jean Creelman not to mention Canada's finest whistler, the Railway Club's own D. Trevlon. Their trademark spaghetti western surf sound remains but there's something new — singing!! That's right, East Van's favorite instrumental band has gone vocal!!! Much like when Dylan went electric the Modelo boys (now masked) are preparing for the bally-hoo that now awaits them.

The Modelos formed in 2004 and showcase some of Vancouver's finest roots musicians. Joey and Mikey Modelo are guitar-slingers from East Van's infamous rockers, The Bughouse 5 (Mikey is also the Vancouver Canucks organist!) while Geoffrey Modelo is Colin James touring drummer and Bradley Modelo has lent his bottom to everyone from Lily Frost to Econoline Crush.


The Modelos - Self titled CD, 2006.

The Modelos - "Saddle Justice", 2008 on Northern-Electric Records

Set List

The Modelos typical set list can be anywhere from one to two hours depending on the show. Their trademark spaghetti western surf sound is mixed with vocal songs that have a country rockabilly flavor to them.

The Modelos - self titled CD 2006

1. Somewhere west
2. Down The Dusty Trail
3. Ode to Ennio
4. Hot Dog Alley
5. Skeleton Dance
6. Blood On The Saddle
7. Dirty Bird
8. Curse Of The Cowboy
9. Bud Bustin'
10. Toke & Stagger
11. Trouble in Paradise

The Modelos, "Saddle Justice", 2008 - Northern Electric

1. Dominatrix
2. Circle The Wagons
3. It's Gettin' Tough
4. Death Ranch
5. Gun Trade
6. Donkey
7. Down The Same Road
8. Saddle Justice
9. Stand Off
10. Wild Bill
11. Empire Of The Sun
12. Cowboys & Indians
13. Tidal Wave