The Mono Effect

The Mono Effect


A firefight of distorted guitars, huge riffs and skull shattering drums with neat, pop melodies, harmonies and rock mentalism. The Mono Effect are an exciting antidote to all the same indie bands littering the UK scene.


A firefight of distorted guitars, huge riffs and skull shattering drums spliced with neat, pop melodies, harmonies and rock mentalism! THE MONO EFFECT is the secret weapon of the UK underground, ready to fight at the front line of the British rock scene.

Like an unstoppable bullet, The Mono Effect leave a trail of destruction with impressionable results. Explosive songs and high-speed performances with no intent of slowing down, this is one bullet you’ll want to take.

Early demos gained positive reviews from Radio One, Punktastic, Play Dead and Logo magazine. After two stints in various studios with producer Russ Russell (The Wildhearts, Napalm Death, Sikth Etc) recording their debut album, the Cambridge quartet were snapped up by cool UK independent label Lockjaw Records to release their debut album in the UK and mainland Europe in September 2008.

The album has been recieving great reviews from Round Sound Magazine, Black Velvet, Repeat and many online fanzines from around the UK and Europe.

The band draw on influences from many genres, which can be heard in The Mono Effect, resulting in fans of all music liking them.


• Debut Album – ‘Giants’ released 15th September 2008 on Lockjaw Records.
• In The City 06’ - Official Unsigned Compilation (Available on iTunes).
• Public Service Broadcast #4 – Compilation (Smalltown America) – Sold Out.
• Unscene – Compilation (Sorepoint / Punktastic Recordings).
• Sept 07: Featured in NME student guide: One To Watch.
• Two week nationwide rotation on Top Shop TV.
• Three Plays for ‘Confidence’ promo video on Organ TV.
• Two plays on Bruce Dickensons Radio 6 ROCK show.
• Live shows with Jetplane landing, Seafood, Towers Of London, Fighting With Wire, Brigade, Ginger From the Wildhearts.
• Demo of the week Organ fanzine.
• In The City 06’ official unsigned.
• Big Cheese Magazine ‘Best of 2008’ Cover mount CD December 2008.

Set List

A typical set list is about 30 mins long, put can be 45 if need be. The band does not do covers. A set can comprise of 7-9 tracks, including the following songs = Suffragette - Confidence - Beast - Bullet Catcher #13 - Sick n Wired - Breathe - Walls Cave In - Kill The Mood - Devil Mouth - Lull - My Friend - Blessed By Angels