The New Congress

The New Congress

BandHip HopFunk

This six piece band boasts an array of talent plucked from the hotbed of Minneapolis musicians and will funk you to the core with their original Funk/Hip Hop tunes.


The New Congress was formed in January, 2005, when lead singer Orange AC (Aaron Cosgrove) and keyboardist Russ King, formerly of the popular Duluth-based band, Crazy Betty, moved to Minneapolis and assembled an amazing cast of musicians.

Orange and Russ searched the Twin Cities in hopes of finding top-notch musicians to collaborate with on their original music. With recruiting bassist Jbiz (formerly with Kip Blackshire), DJ Dudley D (Prince’s DJ), Shaun "Smitty" Smith on the drums, and percussionist Manny Fresh, the group realized they had undeniable chemistry. Hence, The New Congress was born.

The buzz after their debut show at the legendary Bunkers led to an offer of a regular house gig at the Minneapolis hot spot. With numerous high profile shows under their belt including warming up Mint Condition, Faith Evans, a slot on the WB’s “Strictly Original,” and national & regional performances scheduled through 2005 - the hype has begun.

With Morris Hayes of NPG at the helm of their freshman CD release, the guys have a unified vision: To make music they love and to move the people.

Keep your eyes on The New Congress… They’re about to flip this R&B / Hip Hop thing upside down!

“They’re like a shiny machine… you should pay a fortune to see…”
-Weekly Reader, Duluth, MN.

Set List

The band typically does two hour sets, with two 10 minute breaks.

1. Sex in the Lightyear
2. What a Life
3. Lingo
4. Human
5. Ordinary People
6. Can't Be Me
7. All That
8. Winter
9. Days of Easy
10. Shockwaves
11. Can't Imagine
12. Under the Eyes of the Yellow Sun
13. Reason