The New Groovement

The New Groovement

 Victoria, British Columbia, CAN
BandR&BHip Hop

The New Groovement is high intensity funk machine that blends elements of R&B, soul, and hip hop to create a funk-i-fied feast for the ears. The bands sound is as unique as it is versatile with its punchy horns, sweet vocals, clever rhymes, and tight percussion. This is energetic, feel-good music that will get you out of your seat and onto the dance floor!


Who Are The New Groovement?

If The Roots had the soul of Aretha Franklin and the energy of
Jamiroquai then you’d have The New Groovement. The band seamlessly blends
elements of R&B, soul, and hip hop to create a funk-i-fied feast for the
ears that is as unique as it is versatile. Punchy horns, sweet vocals, clever
rhymes, and tight percussion combine to create energetic, feel-good music that
will get you out of your seat and onto the dance floor!

At the forefront of the band are Theresa Pasaluko and her
partner-in-rhyme, Danimal House. Together, they can soothe with sultry, sweet
ballads or slay with sharp cutting rhymes. Backing them up is a solid rhythm
and percussion section that lays down funky beats while the horn section gets
crowds going with tasty licks and dance moves that would make James Brown

The New Groovement is a rising star in BC’s music scene, performing
at all of Southern Vancouver Island’s biggest festivals, touring mainland BC, and receiving regular airplay on radio stations across Canada (including being
selected as The Zone 91.3 band-of-the-month in Victoria, BC). They were also asked
to open for critically acclaimed acts such as Five Alarm Funk and The Coup, and
have been praised in prominent print, television and radio media in Victoria. After
a successful recent crowdfunding campaign (raising nearly 70% more than their goal), the band finished
their first full-length studio album (The
Orange Album
) and released it to a sold out crowd on October 2, 2015. The
album was created with the help of well-known Vancouver Island producer, Joby
Baker (producer of Alex Cuba’s Grammy-winning albums). This up-and-coming group
has quickly made a name for itself with its massive shows and energetic
parties; it’s one band you will not want to miss!

is Reuven Sussman (drums), Tejas Collison (bass), Ben Scotney (guitar), Geoff
Mason (timbales), Kim Maddin (congas), Theresa Pasaluko (lead vocals), Danimal
House (vocals/emcee), David Chase (trumpet), Jason Dolynny (trombone), Jonnie
Bridgeman (sax), and Brad Justason (sax).

What people are saying about The New
Groovement and The Orange Album:


"They're leaving a
funk-infused collar-popping impression on the bc music festival circuit as well
as reminding music lovers what it's like to have real instruments in a modem
day chart topper" -
James Green, Shaw TV, Go! Island

[They've] cooked up a big greasy pot of brassed up goodness. Boasting a smoking four
piece horn section and three percussionists, The New Groovement packs a wicked heavyweight punch.

- Dave O Rama, BC Musician Magazine

“There is little more fun and exciting around Victoria these days
than getting sweaty and dancing your face off to the ripping-good tunes of The New Groovement. These guys bring it, every time they're on stage. And as a
music programmer, I've always been grateful their recordings capture much of
that great energy as well.”
- Kelly Nakatsuka, CBC Radio

“Orange is the new
black. The New Groovement's debut is a funky stew, a full plate of harmonious
horns accompanied by a generous helping of rhythm and rhyme” -
Nathan Ambrose, CFUV101.9FM

“This band is unreal” – Pol Plastino, The Zone 91.3FM 

“… absolutely stunning
soul fire vocals…”

BC Musician Magazine

epitome of live music…” -
Dane Roberts on Shaw TV, Director of the
BC Ska Society


2012: The New Groovement Self-Titled EP
2013: The New Groovement Live!
2015: The Orange Album

Set List

1.       Call Me by My Name

2.       Lay Low

3.       Roll With Me

4.       You Got the Feelin'

5.       Strange Town

6.       Funk Iguana

7.       Erez' Song

9.       Billie Jean

10.    Mr Smooth

11.    Dance Heavy

14.    Captain of the Ride

16.    AudioDrown

17.    Get Down

18.    It’s Alright

19.    Get to the Giving

23.    Bad News

26.    Sleep Talkin'

... (and more, 31 total)